How to Add Back Old Friends on Snapchat

How to Add Back Old Snapchat Friends

Snapchat is a very trendy social platform. Most young adults and teens are using it. If you are on Snapchat, you probably have many Snapchat friends. Thanks to huge friend lists, sometimes people lose track and delete somebody by mistake.

If this happened to you, don’t worry, you’re not the first one. There are many ways you can add back old Snapchat friends, and if you are lucky, they won’t even notice that you removed them. Read on for detailed steps and advice for handling this tricky situation before your friends see.

Don’t Panic!

Step one is to remain calm. It’s not like Snapchat is notifying people that you have removed them from your friend list. You will stay in the clear as long as you act fast. Essentially, people can check your profile and see that you have removed them.

They can get a clue if they try to message you, view your Story, or look at your profile. On your profile, they can see your Snapchat score, i.e., the number of Snaps you two shared in the past. If they notice the Snap Score is missing, they will probably know what’s up.

It’s up to you whether or not you will inform your friends about you accidentally remove them. It is nothing to be embarrassed about as it can happen to anyone. If you are good friends, they will probably tease you a little, but they should forgive you.

Add Old Snapchat Friends

Add Back Old Snapchat Friends with Their Username

It’s not like this situation puts your friendship with the person in question to the test, but if you’re besties, you should know their Snapchat username. This method is the easiest one, so let’s start with that.

Hopefully, you remember your friend’s username. If you do, follow these steps:

  1. Open Snapchat on your Android or iOS You can update the app using the provided links to make it run smoother.
  2. Click on the Add Friends option.
  3. Enter your friend’s Snapchat name in the search bar.
  4. You have to enter their username, not their real name or display name. When you find them, tap on the Add (+) button.
  5. When you do that, the option will change to Added, and that’s it.

Most people don’t memorize their friend’s Snapchat usernames, no matter how close they are. Move on with the next option if you are one of these people.

Add Back Old Snapchat Friends with Their Contact

If you are close to the friend you removed, you probably have their number in your phone. You can use their contact info from your phone to add them on Snapchat. Here is how:

  1. Start Snapchat on your phone or tablet.
  2. Select the Add Contacts option.
  3. Look up your friend in your Contacts menu.
  4. Select Add (+) when you find them.

This option is also easy if you have this person’s contact information. Move on to the next method if you don’t.

Add Back Old Snapchat Friends with Their Snapcode

Finally, you can use your friend’s Snapcode as the last straw and add them before they notice you have removed them. However, you’ll need to have your friend’s Snapcode saved in your gallery. Technically, this is a QR code, but it can be saved as an image on your phone.

Once you obtain the Snapcode, follow these steps:

  1. Open Snapchat on your device.
  2. Tap on Add Friends.
  3. Look at the Snapchat icon on the right side of the search bar. Tap on it.
    Add Back Old Snapchat Friends
  4. Select the Snapcode from your gallery. After Snapchat scans the code, it should add your friend to your friend list.

Note that the Snapcode image has to be original, without any edits, for this method to work. Even if you resize the image, the code won’t work.

What Happens When You Delete Your Friend on Snapchat?

Don’t worry if you accidentally delete someone and add them again; your conversations will be saved. Until you add them again, they won’t be able to see your Stories and your mutual Snap score, and they won’t be able to send you any Snaps.

They can send you snaps, but you won’t receive them. Once you’ve added them to your friends again, you will receive the Snaps they sent in the meantime.

On their end, nothing will change at first glance. You will still be on their friend list, and the only thing that can give you away is the snap score. The other giveaway will be when you add them again. Then, they will receive a notification.

Forgive and Forget

Hopefully, your friend will understand and let you add them again without any grudges. In the end, this won’t go unnoticed, but it certainly isn’t a big deal. If someone decides to hold a grudge, that’s on them.

Were these methods easy enough for you, or have you had trouble adding your old Snapchat friend back to your friend list? Let us know in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.