How to Block Someone on Dubsmash

How to Block Someone on Dubsmash

Social media can be a lot of fun. We’ve all taken pleasure in sharing our pictures on Instagram, adding filters on Snapchat, or belting out our favorite numbers on Dubsmash with friends. But because of the very nature of these apps being public platforms, there’s often little you can do to regulate who visits your profile, watches your videos, and leaves comments on your posts.

That is both the boon and curse of modern social media. Umpteenth stories of cyberbullying and offensive behavior can surface online every day. It’s not only celebrities and singers who face the brunt of such actions, but it can also happen to anyone.

What Is Dubsmash?

Dubsmash is an app designed to create 10-second video bytes called Dubs. These dubs are set against the backdrop of audio clips you can either find in the app’s library or upload yourself. The idea behind the app is to lip-sync anything that catches your fancy. It could be an iconic quote for a movie you treasure, or part of your favorite song.

Dubsmash

Although Dubsmash gives you the option to make your post private or public, it’s quite likely that most users would like to share their creations with the world. What do you do if your videos generate comments that you don’t like? How can you moderate them?

Fortunately, Dubsmash gives its users the ability to block other users. The app’s creators purport to take privacy and safety very seriously, but the last year’s data breach flew right in the face of such claims. Nearly 162 million Dubsmash user accounts were compromised in one of recent memory’s worst privacy hacks ever.

Since then, Dubsmash has taken further steps to ensure the privacy of its users. Blocking users is one way to get rid of unwanted attention on your profile.

What Does Blocking Mean?

Blocking someone on Dubsmash bars the blocked user from accessing your profile or commenting on your posts. The good news is that the blocked user doesn’t receive a notification from Dubsmash about the action you have taken. So unless a blocked user figures it out on his or her own, there’s no way for them to know that you blocked them.

That is especially useful if you are receiving offensive, incendiary, or just plain infuriating messages from another user. Dubsmash claims to look into every blocking action and monitor the blocked user’s future remarks.

In case someone has a history of harassing or making unnecessary remarks, Dubsmash moderators will look into it and possibly ban them.

So How Do You Block Someone?

Blocking someone on Dubsmash is easy. But remember, if you want to delete a comment left by someone on a post, you don’t need them to block them. You can swipe left on the message and then tap on the Trash icon.

In case you don’t want people to comment on your posts, Dubsmash gives you the ability to make your posts private. Doing so will prevent everyone from commenting on your posts.

But if these measures are not enough and you’re keen to block someone, in particular, there’s no reason to worry because Dubsmash has you covered. Follow the steps below to block someone on the app.

Step One

Login to your Dubsmash profile using your unique username and password.

Step Two

Go to the profile of the user you wish to block from accessing your profile.

Step Three

Once you’re on the other user’s profile, look for the Overflow (three dots) menu at the top right of the screen.

Step Four

Tapping on it will give you the option to Block User. Tap on it.

Step Five

Dubsmash will ask you to confirm your choice. Tap on Block again. Now the user isn’t allowed to access your profile or posts.

What If I Want to Unblock?

There’s a possibility that you blocked someone by mistake. Or maybe you want to unblock someone after blocking them. Fortunately, blocking on Dubsmash is not an irreversible process, and you can always grant blocked users the right to reaccess your profile.

To do so, go to your profile and look for the Settings option on the upper left corner of the screen. It resembles a gear icon. Tapping on it will give you a few options. Look for the option that reads Blocked Users. Tap on it to see the users you’ve blocked from your profile.

Scroll to the username of the person you want to unblock and tap on the Unblock option next to their name.

You Can Report Offensive Videos

In case you find offensive or other problematic videos on Dubsmash, you can flag them for the Dubsmash moderation team to review. Tap the Overflow menu at the top right of the post you want to report. Next, tap Report.

Dubsmash will ask you why you want to report the video. Choose the appropriate reason and confirm. Dubsmash will review the footage and delete it within 24 hours if it violates the rules.

But false and repeated reporting can lead to Dubsmash canceling your account. It is a safety valve to protect users from trolls.

Block Someone on Dubsmash

Go and Make Some Dubs!

So what’re you waiting for? Go and make some super fun dubs with your friends and share them with the world.

Have you ever blocked someone on Dubsmash? Have you been blocked? Let us know in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.