0

How To Block Someone on Snapchat

Posted by Sydney on April 11, 2017

Snapchat is a fun way to send silly images to friends. However, the fleeting nature of the app’s content, namely images that are deleted as soon as they are shared, makes it a tempting platform for those who wish to harass other users. It comes as no surprise, therefore, that many users might want to be able to block others quickly and easily. Thankfully, Snapchat’s blocking function is just that.

How to Block a Friend

If the person you want to block is one of your Snapchat friends, the following steps will make it happen:

1. Let’s assume you’re in the camera view that pops up when you first open Snapchat. Tap on the ghost icon in the upper left hand corner. snpachatghost

2. Tap My Friends.

snapchatblockfriends

3. Tap on the name of the friend you wish to block.

4. Tap on the settings icon in the upper right hand corner of the pop up window. snapchatsettingsicon

5. Tap Block.

snapchatblockfriends2

6. Tap Block again to confirm.

7. Share with Snapchat why you chose to block this person.

How to Block Someone Who Added You

Let’s say someone added you that isn’t your friend and that you don’t want to see your information.

1. Tap on the ghost icon in the upper left hand corner just as before.

2. Tap Added Me.

snapchatblockfriends3

3. Tap on the name of the user you wish to block.

4. Tap on the settings icon in the upper right hand corner of the window that pops up.

5. Tap Block.

6. Tap Block again to confirm.

7. Share with Snapchat why you chose to block this person.

How to Block Someone Who Chatted You

Now, let’s look at blocking someone who hasn’t added you on Snapchat and isn’t your friend, but did send you a chat.

1. Click on the chat icon in the lower left hand corner. snapchatchaticon

2. Tap on the chat with that user.

3. Tap on the settings icon in the upper right hand corner of the window that pops up.

4. Tap Block.

5. Tap Block again to confirm.

6. Share with Snapchat why you chose to block this person.

What Blocking Accomplishes

Any user that you block, whether or not they were your friend beforehand, will be unable to do any of the following:

  • Send you snaps
  • Send you chats
  • View your story

If you block a friend on Snapchat, they will no longer appear in your friends list. You will also be removed from their friends list. This is the only notification that they will receive regarding the blocking. Snapchat does not notify users in any other way.

How to Unblock Someone

Let’s say you and your former Snapchat buddy make up. Now you want to unblock them. Snapchat makes this easy as well.

1. Tap on the ghost icon in the upper left hand corner.

2. Tap on the settings icon that has now appeared in the upper right hand corner.

3. Scroll down to Blocked under Account Actions. Tap it.

snapchatblockfriends4

4. Locate the user that you want to unblock. Tap the X to the right of their name.

snapchatblockfriends5

5. Tap Yes to confirm.

Unblocked friends will not reappear in your friends list. You will need to add them again. As with blocking, the user will not be notified of the unblocking. That job rests with you.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.