0

How To Block or Unblock Someone on Twitter

Posted by Jamie on November 24, 2019

There’s nothing like the internet to bring people together.  Social media platforms, and especially Twitter, can bring out the best of the best, and the worst of the worst. We all know some cool people on the platform and likely follow a handful of folks who make us laugh, get us thinking deep thoughts, and share news and pictures we want to hear and see. Yet we also know some pretty dumb people who spout vile vitriol or ‘alternative truths’ using the network. More than ever, it seems that people are compressing their thoughts into limited characters to show the world their true selves… which is where blocking comes in. If you need someone on Twitter to just not show up in your feed, this post is for you.  Alternately, if you blocked someone who has since seen the proverbial light and you’re ready to unblock them, this post is also for you!

Twitter and most social networks are quite aware of the idiocy of some of their users, and do take steps to minimize them where possible. Yet freedom of speech is an important part of the United States Constitution, so there is only so much they can do. The rest is up to us, which is where user blocking comes in.

How to block or unblock someone on Twitter2

How to Block Someone on Twitter

With more trolls on Twitter than most other places, it is important to know how to silence the noise. Fortunately, it is very simple indeed. You can block the user from a tweet of from their profile.

To block a tweet:

  1. Select the More icon. (Three dots on the app, the down arrow on the web).
  2. Select Block.

That’s it! If you use the mobile app, the interface may be slightly different, depending on your current operating system, but the effect is exactly the same. The person will no longer appear on your timeline or be able to tweet you.

Sometimes you’ve got to double-check who you’re blocking.  Let’s be honest- most Twitter handles are totally obscure, and you might want to make sure you’re blocking the right person before you blast off about their insensitive Tweet.  To block from a user’s profile:

  1. Visit the person’s profile page.
  2. Confirm you’re done with this person (for now)
  3. Select the three dot icon or gear icon on the profile page.
  4. Select Block and then Block again to confirm.

On some versions of the app, the icon may be three vertical lines. The rest is the same.

If you want to check that the block is in place, visit the person’s profile and you should see a little button saying Blocked.

How to Unblock Someone on Twitter

If for any reason you want to unblock someone on Twitter, that is simple too. Whether you have reconciled with a friend, or decided the silence is not golden, unblocking them restores access, provided they haven’t blocked you.

  1. Visit the profile page of the person you blocked
  2. Select the Blocked button.
  3. Select Unblock or Yes to confirm.

The iOS app asks you if you want to unblock someone, while the Android app just asks you to tap “Yes” to confirm you do want to unblock them. The effect is the same.

You can also unblock Twitter users on the web.

  1. Log into Twitter using your profile.
  2. Select your profile from the top menu.
  3. Select Blocked from the left menu in the new screen. A list of blocked users will appear.
  4. Select the Blocked button and confirm when prompted.
  5. Rinse and repeat for all users.

How to block or unblock someone on Twitter3

The Effect of Blocking on Twitter

So what does blocking someone on Twitter actually achieve, other than allowing you a modicum of peace and quiet? The blocking process actually does a number of things:

  • A blocked account will automatically be unfollowed.
  • You will automatically be unfollowed by the blocked account.
  • Neither will be able to follow the other until the block is lifted.
  • You will not see any Tweets from blocked accounts.
  • A blocked account will see a message telling them you blocked them if they try to DM you.

Essentially, a block will stop the user looking at anything you do, including tagging other users while on Twitter. You and they may see mentions of each other when someone else retweets something or mention either of you, but that’s it.

Muting a User on Twitter

If you don’t want to go as far as blocking someone on Twitter, you can mute them instead. This just removes their Tweets from your timeline without blocking them altogether. This is useful for those friends who overshare, family members who have nothing better to do than Tweet all day, or companies you like to follow but send out too much marketing.

From a Tweet:

  1. Select the more icon (three horizontal dots).
  2. Select Mute.

You can do the same from a profile.

  1. Visit the person’s profile page.
  2. Select the gear icon on the profile page.
  3. Select Mute and then Mute again to confirm.

If you’re using an app and you don’t see the three horizontal dots, it may appear as a gray down arrow instead, depending on the OS you’re using. It achieves the same goal.

Now when you see that person’s profile or a tweet, you may see a small red speaker icon with a line going through it. This is to signify that you have muted them. You can Unmute them by following the same process, only choosing to Unmute the user.

Managing Twitter users is simple, and blocking or muting takes just a moment to immediately provide relief. Given how annoying some people can be on the platform, this is truly one of the bonuses of an easy to use social media platform like Twitter!

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.