0

Bumble How To Backtrack

Posted by Arch on October 22, 2018

The dating app Bumble gives you the option to swipe through people’s profiles all you want. When you first install Bumble you will probably be swiping like there is no tomorrow. But since going through images relentlessly doesn’t exactly give you enough time to take a closer look at each profile, you are bound to miss something.

There are other online dating apps that come with paid premium options to let you backtrack. However, things are a little different with Bumble. Bumble lets you backtrack as soon as you realize you swiped left on the future mother or father of your children.

But before we go into a detailed explanation of how to backtrack on Bumble, let’s explain what swipes are and how do they work on Bumble.

Swipe Right

Swiping right on the profile or person that you see on your Bumble feed essentially means you like that person.

When you do the right swipe, a check mark appears over the profile/image of the person you swiped. This means that he or she is your potential match. If the same person swipes right on your profile, a match is made and you get a notification.

When you get the notification, there is a 24-hour window to receive a message from your match if you are a guy. On the other hand, the app allows the ladies to immediately text the guy they match up with. But note that this doesn’t apply to same-sex matches and BFF matches.

Now, let’s see what happens if you don’t like someone’s picture on Bumble.

Swipe Left

Swiping left of someone’s profile on Bumble signifies that you don’t like that profile.

As you can see, there is a little X mark on top of that person’s profile picture. This shows that you don’t like the profile and do not wish to match with him or her. And there is no way to match with that person after that.

This is a very clever feature that the app uses to make sure that matches are based on mutual consent. But even if the match is made it doesn’t actually mean that the girl will chat you up within 24 hours. Then again, this applies only if you are a heterosexual guy looking for dates on Bumble.

So the bottom line is that you need to make your profile as presentable as possible to secure the greatest number of matches.

On the other hand, swiping accidents are not that infrequent. Many of us use Bumble on the go and may get confused and swipe left on the wrong person. He or she disappears and the panic strikes when we realize the profile actually looks really cool. So what to do at that moment? Backtrack as quickly as possible before the profile is gone for good.

Backtracking on Bumble

You shouldn’t worry too much about backtracking on Bumble since it is easy and free. Unlike some other online dating apps, Bumble allows you to backtrack as soon as you realize you made a mistake. Backtracking is simple, instantaneous, and modeled after the shake-to-shuffle option on iOS.

If you are new to Bumble and swipe left by mistake, the natural thing you may try to do is swipe back to the profile. When you do that the above message will appear on the screen of your mobile device to notify you that you can just shuffle to backtrack.

Once you shake your device to backtrack, the image on the left will appear on your screen asking you to confirm your decision. If you are sure that you want to backtrack, just swipe and you will be taken to the profile of the last person you swiped left.

You are allowed to have 3 Backtracks and the app keeps track of how many of them you used up. This information is prominently displayed in the Backtrack confirmation window. The number of Backtracks reloads every three hours so you should use them wisely or maybe slow down a little on your swiping.

However, there are ways to replenish your Backtracks quicker.

How to Get More Backtracks?

Bumble is a relatively new online dating platform and the way you get more backtracks reflects the company’s efforts to gain more social traction. If you want to get more backtracks you should share Bumble on social networks like Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook.

When you are out of Backtracks, the above message pops up on your screen. So you can either wait for three hours for them to replenish or tap Get More Backtracks that will take you to the following window.

This app window enables you to share a custom message on one of your linked social media accounts. At the moment it is only Instagram, Twitter, or Facebook. Just type the message that you wish to share and hit Post. Once you do that, your Backtracks will be replenished.

However, you should note that Bumble only allows you to go back to your last three left swipes and no further than that. In reality, you probably wouldn’t need to go back further than that anyway.

The Final Swipe

The fact that you are allowed to backtrack up to three times on Bumble is probably one of the coolest features in this app. It offers you the chance to make a mistake and correct it rather than regret it.

But use it wisely and take your time when checking out other people’s profiles on Bumble. You never know, the love of your life might just be a swipe away.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *