0

How To Cancel your Badoo subscription

Posted by Jamie on July 14, 2019

Badoo is a free dating service but does have premium features. The core offering is completely free but some of those paid for features are worth having if you’re using the app a lot. As usual, they use subscriptions to keep you connected and roll from month to month. If you want to take a break, how do you cancel your Badoo subscription?

Apps can be finnicky when it comes to canceling. Some will ‘forget’ you canceled, others will continue charging you even when you canceled and some will actually stop taking money. You can influence which way Badoo goes by canceling your subscription on the platform itself and double checking on your mobile platform just to make sure.

You can pay for Badoo through credit card or PayPal too so I’ll show you how to cancel those as well.

Cancel your Badoo subscription

Canceling your Badoo subscription is actually quite straightforward. Certainly easier than some premium apps I could mention!

  1. Log into your Badoo account and select the Settings menu from the cog icon in the top right.
  2. Select unsubscribe.
  3. Select Unsubscribe again to confirm your choice.

Your account will return to a free account once your premium period expires. Canceling your subscription doesn’t close your account but just converts it to a free account and removes the premium features you were using. If you pay by credit card, this method will also stop that.

If you’re using Badoo on mobile, you should also check your platform’s subscription settings to make sure it is canceled on there too.

For Apple users, to go this page to check what subscriptions you have. You can also check directly from your phone:

  1. Launch the Settings app on your phone.
  2. Select iTunes & App Store and log in with your Apple ID.
  3. Select Subscriptions and check through the list.
  4. Select a subscription to cancel.
  5. Select Cancel subscription and confirm.

Android users have a similar setup:

  1. Open the Google Play Store on your phone.
  2. Select the menu icon and select Subscriptions.
  3. Select the subscription you want to cancel.
  4. Select Cancel Subscription and confirm.

Canceling on your phone has the same effect as canceling directly with Badoo. You will retain use of your premium features until your paid for period is up and will then revert to a free account.

If you pay by PayPal, it is worth logging into your PayPal account and checking your recurring payments to ensure the subscription is definitely canceled.

If you have any issues with canceling your Badoo subscription, there is a customer services link on your account profile page. You can click that to contact customer services and hopefully get a resolution. Issues stopping the subscription from within Badoo doesn’t stop you canceling it on your mobile platform or from PayPal though.

Pause or delete your Badoo account

If you’re canceling because you’re taking a break from internet dating or Badoo in particular, you may want to pause or delete your account. You can leave it running of course but if you’re putting it on hold because you met someone, leaving a live dating account could prove troublesome if you’re found out.

Pausing your Badoo account is not possible so you have to either ignore it or delete it. See how your new relationship goes or your time out and pick up your account again when you’re ready. As far as I know, there is no pause mechanism built into Badoo to put the account on hold while you do other things.

You can delete your account though. If you’re starting a relationship and want to make sure there are no active dating accounts to find, canceling is definitely something to consider. It does mean you’ll have to set everything up again if things go wrong but that’s not very optimistic!

To delete your Badoo account, do this:

  1. Log into your Badoo account and select your profile.
  2. Select settings menu which is the gear icon in the top right.
  3. Scroll to Delete Account and select it.
  4. Confirm your choice when you see the ‘Are you sure?’ message.
  5. Select Delete Account once more to delete.

Once deleted, you have 30 days to change your mind and reactivate your account. If you reactivate within that time, your account is returned to active and you’re good to go. If you come back to Badoo after those 30 days are up, you will have to create a new profile. That’s not such a bad thing as it gives you the chance to try something new!

If you do cancel your Badoo account, don’t forget to remove it from Facebook or whatever social network you linked it with.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.