0

How To Change How Long or When Messages Expire – Snapchat

Posted by Arch on June 3, 2019
Change When Messages Expire Snapchat

Snapchat is an engaging app that encourages you to snap and chat without worrying that the messages will remain on the servers forever. That’s why all the conversations disappear soon after you view them.

It is good to know that there are ways to change when the messages disappear. There’s also a way to save some messages that are too valuable to disappear.

This article will explain how to change the messages expiration time, and how to save a Snapchat message.

Change When Messages Expire

If you don’t want your messages to disappear right away, you can change the conversation settings. However, you will only be able to change the time of expiration to 24 hours after viewing.

To change the time of expiration, you have to:

  1. Open Snapchat.
  2. Sign-in to your account.
  3. Go to the ‘Friends’ option on the bottom left of the screen.
  4. Choose a conversation that you want to modify.
  5. Tap the arrow icon at the top right corner of the conversation screen.
    Change When Messages Expire on Snapchat
  6. On the friend’s profile screen, tap the ‘more’ icon (three vertical dots).
    Change When Message Expire Snapchat
  7. Tap ‘Delete Chats…’ when the window pops up.
    Change When a Message Expire Snapchat
  8. Choose whether you want chats to disappear immediately after viewing or 24 hours after viewing.
    Change When a Message Expire on Snapchat

Remember that for each conversation you’ll have to manually choose the message expiration. This way you can set up some conversations to disappear right after you have viewed them, while allowing others stay up to 24 hours.

Also, if you return to ‘After Viewing’, all the chats from the previous 24 hours will immediately disappear. So, be careful if you want to switch back.

Note that both parties can change the settings of the conversation.

What Is the ’24 Hours After Viewing’ Option?

If you choose ’24 hours after viewing’ option, you’ll be able to check the conversation for 24 hours after you have opened it the first time.

The ’24 hours after viewing’ option means that the message removal timer will start counting after the recipient sees the message. Not when you send it.

So, imagine that someone sends you a Snapchat message each day, but you only open the conversation on the fifth day. If that’s the first time that you’ve opened the messages, they will expire together24 hours after they’ve been opened. However, if you open a message every day, each one will disappear after 24 hours.

What Happens If You Don’t Open the Message

If someone sends you a message and you don’t open it, Snapchat won’t delete it right away. Instead, Snapchat keeps unread messages on the servers up to 30 days.

If you don’t open a message in 30 days, Snapchat will automatically remove it from the servers.

Saving Your Snapchat Messages

If you want certain messages or chats to remain after the 24-hour limit, you can save them. This way you can keep some important conversations from disappearing.

To save Snapchat Messages, you should:

  1. Open Snapchat.
  2. Open ‘Friends’ menu at the bottom left of the screen.
  3. Search a conversation that you want to save.
  4. Tap on the message that you want to save.
  5. When the new window pops up, select ‘Save in Chat’.
    Snapchat Change When Messages Expire
  6. The background of the saved chat should turn gray.

If you saved the wrong message, or you don’t want to save it anymore, just press and hold on them to “unsave” them. If the messages expiration date is due, it will disappear once you close the chat.

Note that when you save a message, it remains on the server. This means that the other person will also see that you’ve saved the message. So, it will appear in the conversation for both of you as long as it’s saved. Only the user that saved the message is able to remove it.

Deleting Your Snapchat Messages

Sometimes you can accidentally send a message that you didn’t intend to. Luckily, if the recipient hasn’t seen it yet, you can remove it from the conversation.

When you want to delete a message, you should:

  1. Open Snapchat.
  2. Tap on ‘Friends’ at the bottom-left corner of the screen.
  3. Search a message that you want to delete.
  4. Tap and hold the message until the new window pops up.
  5. Select ‘Delete’ to delete the message.

Remember that the recipient can still sometimes see the message before you remove it, so you should act quickly.

If You Want to Keep the Messages – Save Them

If you want your messages to remain visible for longer than 24 hours, the best way is to save them. But sometimes you may not want to notify the other party that you’ve saved a certain message.

Unfortunately, even if you just want to take a screenshot of the conversation, the other party will receive a notification.

Since a conversation involves both parties, all saved messages will remain visible to each participant.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.