0

How to Turn Off Google Chrome Auto Sign-In

Posted by Jim Tanous on July 6, 2019
chrome auto sign-in

Previously when using the Chrome browser, users could sign into various Google websites like Gmail, Google Docs, or Google Drive without needing to sign into the Chrome browser itself.

Starting in Chrome Version 69, however, Google quietly introduced an “auto sign-in” feature that would automatically sign you into Chrome when you signed into a Google service such as Gmail.

This was frustrating for many users, as some users prefer to use only a local account in Chrome and use Google services separately. Or they may share the browser with other users and don’t want to leave their account signed in. It felt a bit heavy-handed to some users that auto sign-in couldn’t be turned off. At least, until now.

Google thankfully listened to user feedback and, starting in Chrome 70, users can disable Chrome auto sign-in. Here’s how. This TechJunkie how-to article will show you how to turn off Chrome auto sign-in.

Disable Chrome Auto Sign-in

First, make sure that you’re on Chrome 70 or newer. You can check your Chrome version by selecting the Chrome pull-down menu then selecting About Google Chrome.

An alternative way to find your Chrome version is to slick the icon with the three dots in the upper-right corner and selecting Help then About Google Chrome.

To disable auto sign-in in Google Chrome, please follow these instructions:

  1. Select the Chrome pull-down menu in the top left of your browser window
  2. Select Preferences from the pull-down menu
  3. Scroll down then click on Advanced to expand the options
  4. Toggle Allow Chrome sign-in to the off position
  5. Click Turn-off to confirm you want to “Turn off sync and personalization?”

.
turn off chrome auto sign-in

To test that this worked, close and then re-open Chrome. With Chrome auto sign-in disabled, you can sign into Google sites like Gmail or Docs and, just like in older versions of Chrome, remained signed out of the browser.

Keep in mind that auto sign-in appears to be enabled by default in the current version of Chrome, so while you can turn it off, you’ll need to remember to do so when setting up a new browser to avoid unintentionally linking your account.

There are advantages to auto sign-n such as having your history and bookmarks synced across devices and computers which can come in handy, so you can always turn auto sign-in back on if you want to take advantage of those features.

If you liked this article focused on privacy in the Chrome web browser, you might also enjoy reading How to Prevent Google Chrome From Storing Browser History.

Do you have any tips or tricks for improving your privacy using Google Chrome? If so, please tell us about it in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.