0

How to Clear Cache Partition on Android Oreo

Posted by Desmond Andrada on February 23, 2018
iTunes prevention

Most Android users are unaware of a system feature called Recovery Mode. In fact, many will never need any of the options available in this mode. It’s used for system-level functions that have little to do with everyday operation. However, there are some things in Recovery Mode that can help solve more serious issues on your device. If you’re running Android Oreo (version 8.0), learning about Recovery Mode could come in handy. In this article, we’ll explain how to use one of the most important functions available in Recovery Mode. It’s called “Wipe cache partition.” Read on to learn more.

Cache Partition

A cache is a storage location used for temporary data storage by software running on a device. Different devices use cache functions in different ways. In Android-based systems, there is a partition in the device’s storage dedicated exclusively to a cache. Apps make use of this partition to store temporary data. This includes login credentials, recent history, and settings among other things. Generally, this should all function seamlessly without the user noticing anything. Over time, however, the cache partition can fill up and slow down operation. When space is running low, issues can also arise with different apps trying to access the same sectors of the cache. These conflicts can cause conflicts that might crash an app or even the whole device. If your device is sluggish or you’re experience frequent app or OS crashes, your cache partition may be overfull.

What Does Wiping the Cache Partition Do?

Wiping your cache partition will permanently delete all temporary data stored there. This doesn’t include things like photos, bookmarks and other things you’ve saved. Generally, only apps have access to the cache partition, and nothing you download or save would ever end up there. As a result, the cache partition wipe is non-destructive. You may need to log back in to some apps or adjust a few settings, but you won’t lose anything important. Depending on your situation, wiping the cache partition could free up significant device storage. Your apps will run faster and it should eliminate any crashing conflicts.

How to Clear the Cache

Clearing the cache partition from Recovery Mode is very easy. Since most users are very unfamiliar with this mode, it may seem daunting. But we’re here to help. So follow the directions below to wipe your cache partition.

  1. Turn your device power off
  2. Simultaneously press and hold the following three hardware keys: Home, Power and Volume Up
  3. Hold these keys down until the device begins to boot up
  4. You’ll see small blue text in the upper hand corner that says “RECOVERY BOOTING….”
  5. Wait a few minutes while the device boots. You might see several different logos. Be patient.
  6. You’ll be presented with several options in a completely stripped down interface
  7. Within Recovery Mode the touch screen doesn’t work. You’ll use the volume and power buttons to navigate the menus
  8. Press volume down until “Wipe cache partition” is highlighted
  9. Hit the power button to select it
  10. Confirm by scrolling down to “Yes” and select it
  11. The cache will clear and the device will reboot

A Word of Caution!

This should speed up your device, free some storage and eliminate most crashing problems.There are a couple of pitfalls to be aware of while going through this process, though. The first thing to note is the distinction between volume down and up keys in step 2. The same process using volume down instead of up will boot to a ROM loader. This is a much more advanced feature that can cause serious hardware and security issues. Unless you really know what you’re doing, we don’t recommend messing around with this feature.
The second thing to note is the difference between “Wipe cache partition” and “Wipe data/factory reset.” Both options are next to each other in the Recovery Mode menu. They both begin with the word “Wipe.” But they do very different things, and one could really cause you problems. Wiping the cache partition is non-destructive and leaves your data intact. Wiping data, known as “factory reset,” will erase EVERYTHING. If you factory reset your device, you’ll end up with the same environment as a brand new one. If you haven’t backed up your device, avoid this!! The factory reset is used to fix more serious problems. You may need to use it at some point, but be sure to backup your device first. Otherwise, you’ll end up losing all of your photos, messages, app settings and anything else you’ve put on your device.

Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.