0

How To Clear & Delete All Facebook Posts Without Deleting Account

Posted by Sydney on February 3, 2019

After the recent Cambridge Analytica debacle, the name “Facebook” has been leaving a bad taste in many people’s mouths. Suddenly, we’re all wondering how much information Facebook has one us and what they’re doing with it.

Of course, it’s no mystery that we tend to overshare where social media is concerned, so there were probably more than a few posts in your post history that you wish would just disappear. But now more than ever you might want to wipe the slate clean and start again, wiser and more prepared for what Facebook really is.

Why Delete Facebook Posts

They say the internet is forever, and Facebook is no exception.

From the moment you first created your Facebook account, you’ve been feeding the social media giant information about yourself. Telling them what you like to watch, do, and eat. You’ve also probably been sharing a bit too much with your Facebook friends, telling them how much you enjoy partying with no thought to what future employers might think.

Fast forward a decade or so and you’re not the person you once were. Maybe you catch a glimpse of a past post and cringe. Maybe the public face you now wear isn’t compatible with the Facebook image you’ve been inadvertently cultivating all these years. Maybe you’re not particularly bothered by it, but you’re just tired of the mess.

It’s time for a fresh start.

How to Save Facebook Posts

Hold your horses before you start tearing through that post history. There might actually be a few fond memories in there that you’d like to keep track of. Thankfully, Facebook makes it easy to package up and download all of your data. You just have to know where to look.

  1. Click on the Account Settings icon in the upper right of your Facebook home page.
  2. Click Settings in the drop-down.
  3. Click on Your Facebook Information in the menu on the left-hand side.
  4. Click Download Your Information.
  5. Choose a date range (or “all of my data”), format, and media quality.
  6. Click Create File.

Facebook will gift-wrap a neat little file for you filled with all your Facebook info. Now you can delete away from the website without worrying that you might be losing something important.

How to Delete Facebook Posts

Let’s start with the basics. If you’re only concerned about a handful of posts, then delete them manually. Go directly to the post and complete the following steps:

  1. Click the options icon in the upper right corner of the post and click Delete.
  2. Click Delete again to confirm.

Repeat these steps for every post you want to remove. Remember that you can’t get them back. Once they’ve been deleted from Facebook, they’re gone (unless you downloaded them first).

Use an Extension for Mass Deletion

Deleting posts manually might be fine if you’re only concerned about a few, but it’ll take you forever to go through your entire post history this way. Unfortunately, Facebook doesn’t provide a method for mass deleting your history (unless you delete your account entirely). But there are some browser extensions, like Facebook Timeline Cleaner or Social Book Post Manager, that can help you do exactly that.

We’ll use Social Book Post Manager as an example. Here’s how to get it.

  1. Locate the extension at the Chrome Web Store.
  2. Click Add to Chrome.
  3. Click Add Extension.

Once you have it installed, it’s time to use it.

  1. Go to Facebook.
  2. Click on the Account Settings icon and click Activity Log.
  3. Click on the extension icon.
  4. Set parameters for what you want to delete. 
  5. Check whether or not you want to review the results before you delete.
  6. Decide how quickly you want it to move through your posts.
  7. Click Delete.

It may be tempting to have the app delete your history quickly. However, this could sacrifice performance. If you notice that the app is missing posts, then you might want to try again at a lower speed.

In the meantime, take a moment and be sure that you want these posts deleted. Once they are gone from Facebook, they’re gone for good.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.