0

How To Delete All Facebook Posts

Posted by Joseph on November 30, 2018

Ever since the reports of Facebook user’s data being harvested and used for information warfare has come about, users in droves have been trying to delete their accounts or at the very least, wiping the slate clean by removing all prior Facebook posts. However, this can actually prove to be a very time-consuming process as you would normally have to go through each individual post you’ve ever posted and delete each manually one by one.

“What?! I don’t want to that. There has to be a simpler way, right?”

Technically, yes. You can remove posts from your Facebook timeline from within the Facebook mobile application without the need for a third-party application. This includes previously deleted or hidden posts you’ve shared as well as posts that you’ve been tagged in or at least your tag located in them.

Desktop Facebook users can do the same but also have other options at their disposal in order to remove all posts from their timeline. You’ll either be removing them manually or to speed things up, use a third-party browser extension like Social Book Post Manager to rid yourself of possible past embarrassments.

First, we’ll begin with mobile.

 

Removing Facebook Posts On Your Mobile Device

For this tutorial, we’re going to use an iOS mobile device.

  1. Towards the top of your Facebook News Feed, you’ll need to tap your profile picture in order to head on over to your profile page.
  2. Scroll down your profile page until you see Manage Posts. Tap on it.
  3. Once there, you’ll want to tap the circle to the left of each post to indicate which posts you’ll want to delete/hide from your profile. The mobile app offers you three different options when choosing what you’ll be removing:
         + Older posts that you yourself have shared both publicly and privately
         + You can choose to hide posts that you or someone else shared
         + Finally, you can remove the tags from posts that you’ve been tagged in by other usersUnfortunately, you can only complete these actions one at a time meaning you’ll want to create batches of posts for each option you choose. If your sole purpose is to rid yourself of posts that you alone have shared, you’ll only need to do the process once. Just tap on all those specific posts and remove them. You can’t delete any posts you personally shared if you also include posts shared by others in the same “batch” so make sure you tap the correct posts.
  4. A thing to keep in mind is that you can tap the “Filters” button near the top-left corner of the screen. This will allow you to filter your view to only see posts that you personally shared, only posts that you’re tagged in, and any others in which you may have interacted.
  5. Once all of the posts have been selected, tap either “Next” located at the top-right corner of the screen, or one of the three icons located at the bottom-left corner. Those being Trash (deletion of posts), an X (hide from timeline), or the Tag (tag removal).
  6. If you’re trying to delete posts but the “Delete Posts” option is grayed out, this means that you may have tapped a post that is undeletable according to Facebook. Some of these particular posts include profile or cover photo change notices or shared posts from a Facebook game. You can only hide these particular posts from your timeline by tapping the “Hide from Timeline” (The X icon) option.
  7. Finally, once the confirmation window pops up, Tap “Delete Posts,” “Hide” or “OK” from the options provided. The particular window that appears will be determined by the option you tapped in the previous step.

 

Delete Facebook Posts in Bulk From Browser

You can choose to manually remove posts individually from your Facebook timeline but let’s be real here, that’s not why you’re reading this article. So to speed things up and delete entire years from Facebook in one fell swoop, you’ll need to download a browser extension for Chrome. Unfortunately, there are no Safari extensions available for use at this time. These extensions can delete years of history instantly with a click of a button, so make sure to archive anything you want to save before hitting delete.

For this tutorial, we’re going to focus on Social Book Post Manager as our bulk deletion extension of choice. This will make the whole deletion process rather streamlined and definitely far quicker for those who have many years worth of posts to remove.

 

Social Book Post Manager Extension

Before you delete your posts, I will reiterate the importance of first creating a backup of your Facebook data. With this tool, once the information is gone, it’s truly gone. This data not only includes all of your posts but also your photos and videos, messages and chat conversations as well as all info that you’ve provided in your profile’s About section.

In order to create a backup:

  1. Head over to your General Account Settings screen.
  2. While you have this screen pulled up, there will be a link titled “Download a copy of your Facebook data” at the bottom.
  3. Click on the Download a copy link and follow the prompts. Facebook will begin creating a backup of all your data that will be available for download once complete. Once the download is ready, Facebook will send out an email to your registered email address notifying you of its completion and availability.

Once you have your data backup:

  1. Install the Social Book Post Manager extension, head back to Facebook, and go to your Activity Log. The Activity Log can be accessed by clicking on the down arrow to the right of the question mark icon in the upper-right portion of the Facebook navigation header. Open it and locate Activity Log from the drop-down menu.
  2. The Activity Log link will take you to a page that displays all of your Facebook activity (hence the name). You will see all the friends that you’ve added as well as all the posts and comments that you’ve both created and liked. In the Filter section on the left-hand side, select the filter you wish to delete from, in this case, click “Posts”.
  3. Now open up the Social Book Post Manager extension by clicking on the icon at the top-right of your Chrome browser.
  4. Once the extension is opened, you’ll be presented with a list of filters that you can use to delete posts on Facebook.
    The filters will determine which posts are to be removed and you can even filter them by specific years, months, and even those containing certain strings. A “Prescan on Page” option is available to you if you wish to use it. This will cause the extension to prompt you of which posts will be removed prior to your confirmation. If you accept the chosen posts for deletion, you can click to confirm and watch those posts disappear. However, there have been some reports that when utilizing the “Prescan on Page” option with heavily populated activity logs may cause complications.
  5. Once all of the posts you’ve chosen for deletion have been selected, click the OK button to close the alert, review the activity log, and if satisfied with the selection, click on the Confirm to delete button located at the top of the page.
    If you’re not happy with the currently selected posts targeted for removal, you can refresh the page (I prefer tapping F5 myself) and see the activity log repopulated as it was previously.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *