5

How To Delete All Rings Doorbell Videos [November 2019]

Posted by Arch on November 8, 2019

The Ring Doorbell has revolutionized the world of home security. It has made monitoring every part of your home easy and convenient. Thanks to the many features that ensure the safety of your property against intruders, many people have made Ring an integral part of their home security systems.

If you’ve had the chance to use Ring, you’ve noticed how the device captures and stores videos within an activity log. The device itself doesn’t store any information, so everything is saved within the app. Once you’ve connected it to an account, you can have a complete overview of everything that has been happening around your house.

As you can imagine, these videos can take up quite a bit of storage space. And, since most videos don’t have anything interesting in them, there’s a good chance you’ll want to delete many of them to save some storage space.

Fortunately, there’s an easy way to do it. Keep reading to see how you can quickly and easily delete all videos from your Ring Doorbell.

How to Erase Ring Videos

Deleting all events from the Ring app is a very easy process. Thankfully, Ring allows you to either delete them separately or select multiple videos and delete them at once. Here’ how to do it:

To delete individual events:

If you want to delete only a few specific videos, just follow these simple steps:

  1. Open the Ring app.
  2. Navigate to the Dashboard
  3. Under your Location, find the event you want to delete, then swipe left on it.
  4. Tap the trashcan icon to remove the event and delete the corresponding video.

Repeat these steps for each video you want to delete. When you’re done, you’ll have plenty of storage space to capture and store more videos.

To delete all events:

If you want to delete all the videos on your Ring Doorbell, the previous method might be a little too time-consuming. Instead, follow these steps to delete every event stored on your device:

  1. Open the Ring app and navigate to the event list.
  2. Swipe the entire list to the right to bring up the selection buttons.
  3. Select the events that you want to delete or all of them by tapping the selection buttons.
  4. Tap ‘Delete’.
  5. When the pop-up menu appears, confirm the deletion.

Keep in mind that event deletion is permanent. The process is irreversible, so make sure you won’t need the video anymore. The videos will also be deleted from Ring’s database, so nobody will have access to them and there’s no way to restore deleted events.

As a result, you should be sure to review all of the videos currently stores on your device before taking the steps to wipe your Ring Doorbell’s memory clean.

Factory Resetting Ring

If your reason for deleting videos is because you don’t want to use the Ring Doorbell anymore, a factory reset would be the best solution.

These steps will help you remove your account from the device, you and your data will no longer be associated with the doorbell. This will allow you to sell or dispose of the device without worrying about your personal information being compromised.

Here’s how to remove your account from the Ring Doorbell:

  1. Open the Ring app.
  2. In the upper left corner, you’ll see the Ring Doorbell icon. Tap on it.
  3. Tap the gear icon at the top right corner of the screen.
  4. Select ‘Remove Device’
  5. When the pop-up menu shows up, tap ‘Delete’ to confirm the removal.

This will delete all data from your device, including all videos. Once you’ve disconnected the device from your account, you can safely sell it or give it to someone without worrying about leaving behind your data.

Again, this is permanent, so be sure that there’s no data on your device that you want to keep before performing a factory reset.

Using the Ring Protect Plan

If you’re removing your videos for the sole purpose of freeing up some storage space on your device, one of the Ring Protect Plans can be a good idea. You can delete the videos from the device while still have access to them.

Both the Basic and Plus plans allow you to upload all your Live View, Motion, and Ring videos to the cloud, where they’ll be stored for 60 days. This would give you plenty of time to decide which videos to keep and which to let disappear.

The Protect Plan also allows you to save and share all your Ring videos, so you can share them across multiple devices if you want to save some space. Both plans also come with additional benefits beyond anything that comes with the device.

The Protect Plus Plan starts at $10 per month or $100 per year, while the protect Basic Plan starts at $3 per month or $30 per year. The Basic plan only covers one device while the Plus plan covers all of your Ring devices.

In addition to allowing you to store videos in the cloud, each plan offers some additional security features that you won’t find with the free plan, so be sure to consider these options if you want to get a little bit more out of your Ring devices.

The Final Word

As you can see, deleting all your Ring videos is extremely simple and takes very little time. With only a few taps, you can delete all your activity history and free up valuable space on your device. The new versions of Ring can capture videos in much higher resolution, which can really take up your phone’s storage space.

Always keep in mind that there’s no going back once you delete the videos, so make sure that you won’t need the videos anymore. Either that or you can go with a Ring Protect Plan and get access to cloud storage which would allow you to view all your videos from the last two months.

5 thoughts on “How To Delete All Rings Doorbell Videos [November 2019]”

Cam says:
When you delete 1 or all the recordings in your ring app on a Phone, does it delete it from all other phones / connected devices?
Reply
will says:
Is it normal for the Ring app to use 17 gigs of internal space on your phone?
Reply
Maddi says:
Following
Reply
Matt says:
Brian,
Finally… Thanks!
Reply
Brian says:
The NEW ring app for android, Hold down your finger on any of the History videos until you see the little checkmark bubbles appear (don’t check them), instead in the VERY top right corner click the little ‘3 dot’ menu and you will see the mysterious ‘delete all’ option. Done! be safe, have fun!
Reply
Matthew L. Denaro says:
Perfect. Thank you, Brian.
Reply
Joanna Tripp says:
This does not work for mass delete on my phone. S8 Samsung. It gives me the dashboard. Is there a video.
Reply

Leave a Reply to Matt Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.