0

How to Block or Delete Friends in WeChat

Posted by Jamie on September 1, 2019

WeChat is a messaging app and social network that originated in China but has taken the west by storm. Even though it seems new, or relatively so, it was first released back in 2011 and in the west in 2012. It’s a huge app with billions of users and offers all the things we look for in a social network. It also comes with the usual downsides of social networks, which is why I had to put together this quick guide on how to block or delete friends in WeChat.

For the most part, WeChat is a pretty decent place for teens to hang out. It is a predominantly positive network with a lot going on but you always get one or two people that aren’t on script. We all come across those at one point or another and have to handle them appropriately. Most social networks offer blocking or unfriending in one form or another and WeChat is no different.

You can block someone from contacting you like you can in other social networks and you can delete them as a friend. Both features work in much the same way they do elsewhere, on other social networks. The same process works for both Android and iPhone.

How to block friends in WeChat

WeChat includes a block list feature to help you manage your experience and works in a similar way to other social networks. Anyone added to a block list will not be able to contact you, send you files or chats or send friend requests. It is a very effective way to stop someone harassing you while online.

Here’s how to add someone to your block list in WeChat:

  1. Open WeChat and navigate to Contacts.
  2. Select the person you want to block and open their profile.
  3. Select the three dot menu icon and select Block.

From that point on, that person will not be able to contact you in any way. They will not be notified they have been blocked but will know the first time they try to contact you. They will see a message that says something like ‘The message is successfully sent but rejected by the receiver.’

You can unblock the person in much the same way:

  1. Select Me within WeChat.
  2. Select Settings and Privacy from the menu.
  3. Select Blocked List and select the person you want to unblock.
  4. Select their profile and the three dot menu icon.
  5. Select Unblock from the options.

Again, the person is not informed of your action but will no longer see that message when they try to contact you. It will be as if nothing happened.

How to delete friends in WeChat

Deleting friends in WeChat means removing them altogether. Once you delete someone you cannot undelete them and will need to friend them all over again.

To delete a friend in WeChat, do this:

  1. Open WeChat and select Contacts.
  2. Select the friend you want to delete and open their profile.
  3. Select the three dot menu icon and select Delete.

Like blocking, WeChat does not inform the person you have deleted them as a contact. They will find out as soon as they try to contact you as they will see a message like ‘NAME requires friend requests. Send a request first. You can connect once it has been accepted’. This is a clear sign that you deleted them.

When you delete a contact, any conversations will be removed as well as their name from your Contacts list. If you use Public Moments or don’t have privacy enabled, they will still be able to see your posts and chats. If you have privacy set, such as verification for friends, they will see the message above.

Use Friend Confirmation in WeChat

If you don’t already have friend confirmation set up in WeChat, you might want to enable it if you delete someone. Without it they can just add you as a friend again and carry on as if nothing happened. At least with confirmation, they can send a request but you have the option to decline it if you want to.

Here’s how to use Friend Confirmation in WeChat:

  1. Open WeChat and select Me.
  2. Select Settings and Privacy from the menu.
  3. Toggle Friend Confirmation to on in the settings.

Now you will have to verify every friend request you get and have much more control over who can contact you on the app. It’s a small thing but can make a huge difference to your experience if you haven’t already enabled it.

Stop people using your WeChat ID

The WeChat ID is a bit like the QR code in Snapchat. It’s a shortcut to adding you as a friend and shortens the entire friending process. It’s a great theory that doesn’t take into account the spammers and scammers that hang out on WeChat. If you haven’t disabled your WeChat ID yet, you might want to think about it.

Here’s how to disable it.

  1. Open WeChat and select Me.
  2. Select Settings and Privacy from the menu.
  3. Select Methods for Friending Me and toggle WeChat ID to off.

That’s it. Now WeChat users will no longer be able to add you using your WeChat ID and will have to follow the usual friending process instead.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.