How To Delete Your Google+ Account

google plus

Here today, gone tomorrow! Such is life with social media networks.

If you’re like many people online, you go all gung-ho on a social media website one day, then want to pull the plug the next. It happens. If you’re not feeling the Google+ love any longer, here’s how to delete your account.

Why would you want to delete your account?

If you jumped on Google+ thinking it was the next big thing, you’re not alone. Even though it doesn’t have near the numbers of giants like Facebook and Twitter, Google+ still has more than 300 million monthly active users.

Despite those numbers, Google+ has always been sort of the oddball of the social media family. Billed first as a Facebook killer, Google+ has worn a lot of social media hats during its lifespan, and seems to be ever-changing.

Barring any concrete, unique identity, most barely seem to give Google+ a passing glance, let alone their thorough attention. And that’s a good enough reason to want to opt out of Google+. Having one less social media account to keep your eyes on can free up your time and also some much-needed space on your devices. Even if you’re not actively using your Google+ account, you may still feel the pressure to update your profile pic or check in from time to time. If you want to do that, that’s fine. If you don’t, it’s time to familiarize yourself with the delete key.

How to delete your Google+ account

Step one: Go to

downgrade Google account sign in screen

The link above will take you to a familiar-looking Google sign in screen. Enter the email address and password associated with the Google+ account you want to eliminate.


Step two: Check the two boxes at the bottom of the screen

check these boxes to delete Google+ account

Once you’re signed in, you’ll be taken directly to the screen above. To delete your entire Google+ profile and account, check the bottom two boxes.


Step three: Hit Delete

choose delete

Click the Delete button on the lower-right side of your screen and you’re done.

Word of warning: Your public Google+ profile will be deleted entirely, as will any custom URL you may have chosen for your account. Your pictures, contacts, profile picture and Google Hangouts data will remain intact. To change or delete your profile picture, visit your About Me page on Google.

Posted by Jodi on May 18, 2016

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

TechJunkie Also Recommends