How To Delete a Tik Tok Video Post

How to Delete a Tik Tok Video Post

TikTok is one of those apps that are a lot of fun to play with. Once you figure out how to add effects, filters, and use other cool features, chances are that you’ll be spending a lot of time making videos.

After a few days or weeks of making videos, you might have a hard time navigating your gallery. When that happens, it might be time to delete some videos you don’t need any more.

In this article, we will explain everything you need to know about deleting videos and other content from TikTok.

Deleting a Video

Getting rid of videos you don’t need or want in TikTok is very simple. All you have to do is open the app and visit your profile. Once there, you will get an entire list of all the videos you’ve created in the app.

Tap the video you don’t need. It will appear and play in fullscreen mode. While that’s going on, you will see three little dots in the bottom-right corner. Tap the dots, and the app will show you the rest of the available options.
delete tik tok video post

When the pop-up menu appears, swipe it from left to right until you see a little trashcan icon. Tap it, and the video in question will be removed from your gallery. The app will ask you to confirm your decision, and you should tap “Yes” to have the video fully removed.
how to delete tik tok video post

If you allowed your videos to be downloaded by other users, there is not much you can do. Even if you deleted the video from your gallery, someone might have downloaded a copy they can upload from their profile. That’s why it’s vital that you adjust your privacy settings before creating any videos you might want to delete.

Deleting an Account on TikTok

Until recently, the only way you could delete your TikTok account was by contacting customer support. They had to approve your request before you could delete an account. That made a lot of problems for users because the process could take up to several days. That’s why TikTok came up with the “Thinking about removing your account” feature designed to make the entire process quicker and easier. Keep in mind that you will have to add a phone number to your account before you can delete it.

Adding Your Phone Number

  1.  Open the app and tap on the Profile Information icon.
    delete a tik tok video post
  2. Tap on the Settings option and choose Privacy and Settings from the pop-up menu.
    tik tok how to delete video post
  3. Find Manage My Account and look for the Phone Number feature.
  4. Tap the feature and insert your phone number.
  5. The app will send a verification code to your phone. Enter the code in the box, and you will now be connected to the TikTok app.

Account Deletion Process

Now that you have connected your phone to your TikTok account, you are ready to delete it.

Here is how you do it:

  1. Tap the Profile Information icon.
  2.  Choose Settings.
  3.  Select Privacy and Settings in the pop-up menu.
  4. Tap the Manage My Account option.
  5. Find the “Thinking about removing my account” feature and tap it.
  6. The app will send you a unique OTP message with a verification code. Enter the code in the box and tap Continue
    tik tok how to delete a video post

Your TikTok account is now deleted

Important Things to Know

Deleting your account will delete all of your videos, favorite music, and everything else tied to your profile. However, chat messages sent to other TikTok users will remain visible to them.

Apart from that, all your videos, features, and profile settings will be gone for good. There is no way of reactivating your account once you delete it. You will have to create another profile if you ever want to use TikTok again.

Are You Sure That You Want to Delete Your Account?

If you have some favorite videos that you want to keep, make sure to download them before deleting your TikTok account. If you have made any in-app purchases, you can forget about a refund. All of the TikTok coins you had on your profile will also be deleted without a refund.

You can always lock your profile so other users can’t see you. Just set the privacy and safety options so that you become completely invisible. That way, you can effectively “pause” your account and continue where you left off at any time in the future without losing any of your videos or tokens. You should always think twice before deciding to delete your TikTok account.

Have Your Say

Are you a TikTok user? What do you think about the app? Have you ever tried deleting your account? Share your TikTok-related experiences in the comments section below.

One thought on “How To Delete a Tik Tok Video Post”

Avatar Daniel says:
First time user, I have a video but I didn’t close due with icon, now someone have used my video for his tik tok, how to delete it. Even I have delete in my account but the the other person account still have his due with me video. Please help

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.