How To Delete your TikTok Account
TikTok is a majorly addicting platform. You could spend hours simply scrolling through an endless amount of entertaining and equally hilarious videos. It’s gotten so addicting that TikTok has even added a “Wellness” feature where you can limit your time on the app. However, that might not enough for some people, and more drastic measures might be necessary — actually deleting your TikTok account.
Luckily, deleting your TikTok isn’t difficult — there aren’t a whole lot of hoops that you have to jump through like many platforms would employ to get you to stay. Today, we’re showing you step-by-step on how to delete your own TikTok account.
Some things to keep in mind
Before we proceed with deleting your TikTok account, there are a couple things to be aware of. The first is that you are literally deleting your TikTok account. This isn’t a temporary deactivation that you can always return to — no, upon confirming that you want to delete TikTok, your account is gone. It’s not like Twitter, where you choose to delete your account, but you have 30 days to log in and change your mind. The move is immediate, irreversible, and with no option to recover.
The second thing to keep in mind is that you won’t get a refund on any TikTok purchases that you’ve made. Those transactions are final, and upon deleting your account, you will no longer have access to the benefits that those purchases brought you.
And finally, some of your user data may still remain on TikTok, and likely forever. This is generally information that isn’t directly stored on your account, such as comments. People will still be able to see comments that you left on other videos, mostly for the sake of viewing legible conversation; however, your username will be removed or changed to something like “user5674382”.
Delete your account
Like we mentioned, deleting your TikTok account is quite easy and can be done in just a couple of steps. We’ll show you step-by-step how to delete it, but before you continue, remember to head to your profile page and download any videos that you created that you want to save!
Open the TikTok app.
Tap on your profile — this is the icon at the bottom right corner of your navigation pane. Next, tap on the three-dot horizontal menu button at the top-left corner.
Under the “Account” category, tap on Manage My Account.
At the bottom of the screen, tap on the faded gray text that says Thinking about removing your account?
Finally, follow the on-screen instructions to finalize the request. You’ll have to verify your account with your phone number, and then you can press Continue. On the next page, you can confirm that you do indeed want to delete your TikTok account.
Once you confirm the request, you will no longer be able to log back into TikTok using those credentials. All videos that you had on that account are now no longer accessible by you and are removed off of the TikTok platform.
As you can see, deleting your account on TikTok is quite easy. In just a couple of minutes, if not less, your account can be permanently wiped off of the platform. However, if you have some great videos that you want to keep on TikTok, you might be better off taking advantage of the built-in digital wellness features instead of deleting all of your data!