How To Delete your Twitter

Twitter can be an excellent place to get all of your news, updates on football, UFC, and other sports, but it can also be a nightmare-ish platform where trolls and bots come to play. Not only that, but your own posts on social media can sometimes come back to bite you. Employers or potential employers will often look you up on social media to learn more about you, and if they do not see something they like — or something that is generally inappropriate — you could be passed up for the position.

That said, you might be wondering how you can delete your Twitter once and for all to avoid that problem. It’s easy in itself, but there are some other elements you need to take care of before just deleting it. Follow along below, and we’ll help you get your Twitter permanently deleted!

How to delete a Tweet

If you’re just trying to get rid of Twitter because of some embarrassing tweets that you posted in the past, you can easily just delete these tweets instead of permanently deactivating your entire account. It’s much easier to just go through and delete that tweet than start up a whole new Twitter account, re-following your friends, favorite accounts, influencers, and more.

Deleting a tweet is simple. Just head over to your profile or timeline, scroll down until you find the Tweet that you want to delete, press the little downward arrow to the right side of your tweet, and then simply select Delete. That will get rid of your Tweet forever, including any re-tweets that it might have received.

What if the tweet is impossible to find?

Maybe you’re extremely active on Twitter, tweeting everyday, re-tweeting awesome content, and more. That can make it really difficult to find old, embarrassing tweets that are buried underneath everything else. You could potentially be sifting through thousands of tweets, if not more! Suffice to say, deleting those old embarrassing tweets can be a massive time investment.

Luckily, there is some external software available to make it easy to delete a tweet without going through all of that hassle. That software is aptly called TweetDelete, and allows you to delete tweets in a specific time range. For example, if you did a lot of tweeting as a teenager, there might be a group of years that you want to outright delete. TweetDelete will allow you to mass delete those tweets without going through them one by one. You can actually delete up to 3,200 tweets at a time with TweetDelete.

Just head over to www.tweetdelete.net, log in with your Twitter account, and authorize the app. Next, you can check the box that says Delete all my existing tweets.

And then, if you want, you can setup TweetDelete on a schedule to automatically delete tweets for you after a period of time passes. Click on the dropdown, and you can select how long ago you want to delete your Tweet from. You could choose to delete all tweets that are three months and older, or all tweets that are a year or older, and so on. When you’re ready to make it official, just hit the Activate TweetDelete button.

How to delete your Twitter account

If you’re just tired of the micro-blogging service, deleting your account is as easy as can be. The first step is to head over to Twitter and log into your account. Once you’re in, click on your avatar at the top-right corner of the website and select Settings and privacy.

Next, scroll all the way down to the bottom of the page and press the Deactivate Your Account link — it’s in really small text, but is the last option on the list. This will take you to another page, detailing what it means to deactivate your account.

You can go through it if you want, but to finalize the deactivation, just press the big blue button at the bottom of the page that says Deactivate. You’ll have to enter in some authentication information to continue — such as your password — but the deactivation will start right away.

You will have up to thirty days to change your mind. During these 30 days, you can enter in your account details on Twitter to log into your account at anytime, and that will stop the deactivation process. If you do that and still want to deactivate your account, you’ll have to go through the steps above again and that timer will reset. After the 30 days is up, your account will not be recoverable.

Closing

Remember, once that 30 day period is up, there’s no going back to your old account. Suffice to say, make sure you have all the old tweets you want to remember downloaded — this could be photos you shared, or fond memories your had with a friend. There’s no going back, and you don’t want to lose those forever!

And remember, if you’re just trying to do something as simple as changing your Twitter handle, you can do that without deactivating your account. It’s the first option on the Settings and privacy page!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.