How To Delete your VSCO Account

Tried VSCO and didn’t like it? Want to delete your VSCO account and try something else? This post will show you how.

VSCO’s dream is to be what Instagram should have been. A place where photographers displayed their wares and where we could see amazing images of people, places and moments in time. It’s a mobile app for photographers that is proving more than a little popular.

Instagram had such potential. Powerful filters, lots of tools and amazing ease of use. Unfortunately, that last is why the social network is full of narcissistic selfies, poor quality shots of random stuff that nobody cares about, not so cute animals and all sort of other garbage. Fortunately, VCSO is here to save the day. Hopefully.

VSCO

VSCO has been around for four or five years now and has managed to remain more niche than Instagram. That probably isn’t great news for investors or shareholders but it is good news for us. It has kept focus on photographers and creatives and seems to prioritize fantastic photography over gaining millions of users. So far, that has been much to VSCO’s credit.

While VSCO has gained a social following, it remains well-mannered and well meaning. There is a definite social aspect to the app but it is supportive of the creative content and does not often detract from it. Compared to Instagram, VSCO’s follower numbers are tiny but that is the point. The founder originally said ‘We don’t define success based on numbers’. For that, we thank you.

If you have tried VSCO and didn’t like it or no longer want to use it here is now to delete your VSCO account, sort of.

Delete your VSCO account

You have two options if you no longer want to use VSCO. You can deactivate your profile and leave it dormant or you can deactivate it permanently.

Deactivate your VSCO profile:

  1. Log into VSCO and navigate to this deactivation page.
  2. Select Deactivate my profile and follow the wizard.
  3. Confirm deactivation of your VSCO profile.

Deactivating your VSCO profile will remove your Grid, Collection and Journal from view but will leave your account intact. It will essentially be dormant but still live.

Deactivating your VSCO account:

  1. Log into VSCO and navigate to this page. It is the same page as above.
  2. Select Deactivate my account and follow the wizard.
  3. Confirm deactivation of your VSCO account.

Deactivating your account sort of deletes it. You will no longer be able to log in, access any resources you had, or any purchases you made. You may like to download whatever resources you’re going to need before doing it so you don’t lose them.

If you would prefer to delete your VSCO account via email, you can.

Email [email protected] and add the subject ‘Delete my VSCO account’. This may take longer than doing it via the website.

Notice the syntax used in this process? ‘Deactivate profile and deactivate account?’ Those are the exact words used by VSCO. This implies that while you lose access to your account, nothing is actually deleted or wiped from the database. This suspicion is strengthened by the statement at the bottom of a VSCO support page: ‘To reactivate an account, email us at [email protected]

This leads me to believe that all you do when deactivating your account is stop yourself being able to use it. If you can reactivate an account, it must still be present in order to be reactivating. Not ideal.

Delete your images from VSCO

To truly remove yourself from VSCO, you will need to delete your images and any assets you used to create those images within the app.

  1. Open the VSCO app on your device and make sure you are logged in.
  2. Select the face icon in the bottom right to access your profile.
  3. Select an image and tap the three dot icon in the top right.
  4. Select Delete to remove the image.

You may also need to remove images that other people have added to their collection.

  1. Open the VSCO app on your device and make sure you are logged in.
  2. Select the face icon in the bottom right to access your profile.
  3. Select the bell icon and select the image you want to remove.
  4. Select the ‘-‘ icon to remove it from the collection.
  5. Confirm your choice to remove it.

As with most social networks privacy and your ownership of data is secondary to the platform’s needs. While no worse than other platforms, VSCO is no better either. If you really want to remove yourself from it, you should delete all your assets from your account and them deactivate it. A follow up email requesting full deletion may be required for completeness.

Posted by Jamie on September 8, 2017

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *