0

Does Discord Notify the User When You Kick or Boot Them?

Posted by Arch on May 28, 2019
Does Discord Notify the User When You Kick or Boot Them

Discord has become a go-to means of communication for online gamers. It filled the gap when no other online service provided free communication be it in the form of text, voice, video, or image. Sure, there was Skype which was too needy and aggressive. It consumed a lot of RAM and increased players’ in-game latency quite a bit. Truth be told, Skype was never intended to be used by gamers.

On the other hand, TeamSpeak was built for it, but it was also lacking. TeamSpeak servers are not free, a thing some casual gamers consider a deal-breaker. Discord, on the other hand, is free and, from the looks of it, it is here to stay. It has over 250 million users as of now.

Some of those users are spammers or plain rude, uncooperative players. Luckily, you can give them the boot or, if they cross the line, hit them with the ban hammer.

How to Kick, Ban or Prune Users on Discord

Being a discord server owner or moderator can be very demanding at times. Since Discord is free, you can have multiple accounts and switch between them as much as you like. This allows some pesky people to be really annoying and hard to deal with.

How to kick or boot somebody:

  1. Open Discord on your phone or in computer browser.
  2. Go to the desired server using the sidebar to the left.
  3. Select the channel from which you want to kick somebody.
  4. Find their username either on the bar to the right or manually search through the channel’s message history.
  5. Right-click on their name and a dropdown menu will appear.
  6. Select Kick “username” near the bottom of the list.

Discord Notify a User When You Kick or Boot Them

Note: Kicking somebody is not a permanent solution. This user can easily rejoin your server if it is public or if somebody who is already on the server sends them a new invite.

How to mass kick or prune people:

  1. If your server is too big and there are many inactive users who have not logged on in a while, you can prune them.
  2. Open your server settings located at the top left corner.
    Does Discord Notify the User When We Kick or Boot Them
  3. You will see a members list on the right side and the roles you assigned them. Above this list is the Prune option.
    Does Discord Notify Users When You Kick or Boot Them
  4. Choose the amount of time they had to stay inactive to get booted. It can be one, seven or thirty days. You will see the number of users that will be kicked in each case.
  5. This will not boot the players that already have assigned roles on the server.

How to ban a user on Discord:

  1. To ban somebody on Discord follow the previous steps but select Ban “username” instead of Kick.
  2. A window will pop up with additional options.
  3. You can choose to delete this user’s messages on the channel for different amounts of time. This is a real time saver as you will not have to delete them manually.
  4. You can also notify them of the reason they were banned. This is optional, though.
  5. Once you are done, confirm by pressing Ban.
  6. When a user is banned, there is no coming back to your server, i.e. the ban is permanent.
    discord ban

How to unban a Discord user:

  1. In case you change your mind and decide to forgive somebody you can always unban them.
  2. Access the server settings at the top left corner, above all your channels.
  3. A dropdown menu will appear, with Bans at the bottom of the list.
  4. You will see a chronological list with all the users you have previously banned.
  5. When you click on someone’s username you will see the reason you banned them and an option to revoke the ban. Click the “Revoke Ban” button and the user will be able to re-join your server.

Note: The “Reasons for banning” section is a useful tool, especially for bigger servers where there are several admins. Other admins or the server owner can revoke the ban if they think the punishment was too extreme or for a silly reason.

What Happens When You Kick or Boot Somebody

Kicking people from your server may hurt their feelings if they notice it. There is no notification alerting Discord users that they were removed from a server. They can only see the server missing in their server list.

Users that were kicked can rejoin if your server is public or if they are given a fresh invite to come back. This is especially good for the users kicked in the pruning process. They get a second chance if they did nothing wrong. Banning is a permanent solution for users whose offenses are too severe to be looked over.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.