0

Does Netflix Give Refunds?

Posted by Jamie on February 2, 2019

Netflix is the most popular streaming service in the world. It offers thousands of movies and TV shows, is cheap, works on most devices with an internet connection and delivers a high standard of service. That doesn’t mean it’s for everybody and there are lots of people out there who don’t get on with the service. So does Netflix give refunds if you don’t like what you see?

In a word, no. You pay for the service monthly in advance and once you cancel, you can still access your content until your billing period is up and then that’s it. You don’t get your money back and there are no refunds.

That may sound harsh but it’s normal practice. It’s only $7.99 a month so it isn’t much to spend. Regardless of the price, the system is not designed to offer refunds or revoke access partway through the month. The billing system can only approve access once payment has been processed. While that is not the fault of the consumer, that is how these services work.

The Netflix ToS say as much:

‘3.3. Cancellation. You can cancel your Netflix membership at any time, and you will continue to have access to the Netflix service through the end of your monthly billing period. To the extent permitted by the applicable law, payments are non-refundable and we do not provide refunds or credits for any partial-month membership periods or unwatched Netflix content.’

How to cancel Netflix

If Netflix is no longer doing it for you, it’s easy to cancel and move on to something else. Netflix is one of the few companies that actually make it simple to control and cancel your account and not hide it deep within your account page.

  1. Log onto your Netflix account.
  2. Navigate to your Account page using your icon in the top right.
  3. Select the Cancel Membership button under Membership & Billing.
  4. Select the blue Finish Cancelation box on the next page.

That’s it.

If you don’t see the Cancel Membership button on your account page, you may have acquired your Netflix account through another service. That could be iTunes, Google Play or something else. You should look at your bank statement or other subscription services you use to see where you’re paying for Netflix. You will then need to use that local account to cancel it.

Netflix charged me after free trial

What happens if you are charged once the free trial ends? Can you get a refund then? The answer is no. It’s up to you to cancel your membership before the end of the free trial if you don’t want to pay. You have 30 days of free content to enjoy before having to pay a dime and it’s down to you to set a reminder or otherwise remember to cancel before that time is up.

Netflix is charging me after I canceled

Netflix is good but not omnipotent. Mistakes happen and from what I have seen, the company is pretty good at making things right. Before you contact them to remedy your situation, it helps to gather all the facts and present your case all at once.

If you see charges after cancelation, make sure your account has been properly canceled. Make sure nobody else has a login and that you remove your card(s) as payment.

If you see charges on your Netflix account during your free trial, it is more likely an authorization check rather than charge. Netflix performs a test charge to ensure the payment method is legit. This ensures they get their money when the time comes. It may look like a charge but isn’t. Check before you contact Netflix as it could save you a lot of time!

Getting in touch with Netflix

Again, unlike other services, Netflix makes it easy to get in contact with them. They even have a toll-free number you can call them on. It is 888-638-3549 from within the US. You can also live chat using this link. Depending on the time of day, there will likely be a wait until an agent gets to you. It seems to average around 10-12 minutes wait time for normal hours.

Netflix customer service operates 24/7 so you should always be able to get ahold of someone at any time.

Netflix does not give refunds. No subscription service that I know of does. You pay for the period, retain access for that period and then pay no more. Once the billing period is over, you lose access. It’s a simple system and while it may not offer refunds, it does seem fair.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.