0

Does Snapchat Give Your Location Away When You Post?

Posted by Arch on April 20, 2019

Snapchat offers Snap Maps, a feature that shares your location with the people you chat with. Using a map, they’re able to see where you are whenever you send or post something.

Even though this is a neat feature, some people are not comfortable with it. There are good reasons behind this since sharing your private information with people online can sometimes cause trouble.

There are still people who don’t understand this feature very clearly. They’re unsure of whether their location is visible to their friends or not. To help you understand how Snap Maps work, let’s go over everything you should know.

Does Snapchat Reveal Your Location

If you’re wondering whether people will be able to see where you are, the answer is – yes and no. The good news is, you get to decide whether you want to share your location or not.

If you haven’t used Snap Maps, here’s how this works:

When you enter your Snapchat camera, you can open Snap Maps by pinching the screen with two fingers, the same way you zoom out of the picture. Once you’ve done it, Snap Maps will ask you if you want to share your location.

If you select the ‘Ghost Mode’, nobody will be able to see your location. This option is on by default, so there’s no reason to worry about your location being revealed if you haven’t chosen this option manually.

You can also choose to share your location with all your friends or select only some of them. If you choose either of these two options, your friends will be able to see your avatar on a map based on where you are.

Snapchat also makes it clear that the location is updated only when you enter the app. This means that you won’t have to worry about being tracked while Snapchat is off.

Another way to share your location is to participate in group stories. The way you do this is by posting Snaps while being in a hot spot location, then adding it to ‘Our Story’.

When you do this, you’ll be able to see the snaps of all the people that are near you and they’ll be able to see yours as well.

How to Enable Location Sharing?

If you decide to share your location, this is how you do it:

1. Open the Snapchat camera.

2. Access Snap Maps by pinching the screen.

3. Tap on the setting icon on the top right.

4. Turn off the Ghost Mode and select who you want to share your location with.

 

If you decide to reveal your location, there are a couple of things to know. The first thing to remember is that your location is shared every time you open the app, no matter if you’re sending someone a snap. As soon as you enter the Snapchat camera, all the people that you share your location with will be able to see where you are.

Also, choosing to share your location with everyone might not be a good idea. It is recommended that you only share your location with your close friends and people that you know personally. This way, you can keep your location away from the prying eyes.

Since there are many kids using the app, parents should be aware of this feature. It’s important for them to talk about location sharing with their children and to know which other people that can see their child’s location.

This doesn’t mean that you should be paranoid about this feature. Chances are that sharing your location is safe, but in an online world, it’s always a good idea to be cautious. The locations can be very accurate, so you should choose the people you share your address with carefully.

If you wish to turn off the location sharing feature, you can do that by accessing the same settings menu from the Snap Maps, then toggling the Ghost Mode on.

Location Request

Aside from Snap Maps, Snapchat rolled out another feature that lets you send your location to users and request theirs.

This feature relies heavily on Snap Maps, but it gives you a new way of sharing your location with your friends. In order for this feature to work, you need to enable the location sharing option in the app.

The way to do this is by long-pressing on your friend’s name or going to the chat thread and pressing the hamburger menu. There you’ll see new buttons, which allow you to request your friend’s location or send your own.

If you send them your location, they’ll get a map inside your private chat. Nobody else will be able to see this. Also, the map disappears after you haven’t opened Snapchat for eight hours or more. In order to give you more control, Snapchat allows you to deny their access to your location anytime you want.

The Final Word

Snap Maps are a double-edged sword. On one hand, they give you an opportunity to see your friends’ locations easily and share your own with them. However, sharing your address online isn’t always a good idea.

If you use this feature with caution, you can rest assured that nothing bad will happen. If you carefully select the people you want to share your location with, you can get the best out of this feature and have fun with it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.