0

Does Viber Notify your Contacts When you Join?

Posted by Jamie on June 10, 2019

Does Viber notify your contacts when you join? Can you prevent this from happening? Can I block numbers if I don’t want to talk to someone? Can I use Viber without being seen? All these questions and perhaps others will be answered in this article.

We get a lot of questions like this for the various chat apps and social networks and we are working our way through each of them to answer as many questions as possible. This time we’re talking about Viber, an extremely popular chat app that never seems to grab the headlines like WhatsApp or other apps do.

Does Viber notify your contacts when you join?

Yes but only when you join Viber for the first time. When you first sign up to Viber, the app will notify any contacts you have who also use Viber that you joined. This is a ‘helpful’ feature designed to encourage all of you to use Viber. However, it isn’t so useful if you still have contacts in your phone who you don’t want to speak to.

If you buy a new phone and add Viber to it, the app will not notify your contacts. It is only as a new user.

Can you prevent this from happening?

Not officially. Viber uses this method to get you using the app. If your contacts know you also use Viber, you are all more likely to use it. There is a potential workaround though.

You could remove them as a contact in your phone to work around this. Back up your contacts in iTunes or Google Drive, install Viber and let it notify the contacts you don’t mind knowing you use it. Then you can add the other contacts afterwards if you want to.

Can I block numbers if I don’t want to talk to someone?

Yes you can. We all have people we don’t want to talk to, either too often or at all. Using social apps is all very well but we need to maintain control over who we interact with. The easier it is to talk to someone on Viber, the more likely they are to reach out.

Here’s how to block a contact on Viber:

  1. Open the app and select the More menu in the bottom right of the main screen.
  2. Select Settings and Privacy.
  3. Select Block List and Add Number.
  4. Add the number to the block list and select Block.
  5. Add a name if prompted and select Done.

If you’re on better terms with someone and you want to unblock them, the process is very similar.

  1. Open the More menu.
  2. Select Settings and Privacy.
  3. Select Block List.
  4. Select the person you want to unblock and select Unblock.

When you block someone, they won’t be able to contact you or add you to group chat. They will no longer see your status or when you update your profile either.

Can I use Viber without being seen?

Yes you can. We all have times when we just want to chat to someone without being drawn into a wider conversation. All social apps should have this feature if they show status and Viber does have it.

  1. Open the More menu in Viber.
  2. Select Settings and Privacy.
  3. Select Send ‘Seen’ Status and uncheck the box.
  4. Select Share ‘Online’ Status and uncheck the box.

There is an arbitrary limit of one activation per 24 hours as far as I know so use it sparingly. This may (and needs to) change at some point in the future but be aware that going dark is limited.

Delete conversations in Viber

If you’re housekeeping or no longer want to see conversations from someone in particular, you can manually delete them from the app. This will remove chats from your side of the conversation but not from the other person’s but will remove them from the app so you can no longer see them.

  1. Enter the chat that you want to delete.
  2. Select and hold the messages you want to delete.
  3. Select Delete.

You can also use the menu to select multiple conversations.

  1. Select the More menu from within the chat.
  2. Select Edit Messages and check boxes should appear next to each conversation row.
  3. Select the ones you want to delete and select the trash icon in the bottom right.

Both of these will only remove conversations on your side. If you said something dumb or something you shouldn’t have, it will still be present in the other participant’s app.

Viber is a pretty good app that works well and offers all the features you want from a chat app. It doesn’t seem to be as popular as some others but really should be. Hope this tutorial has made it easier to use for you!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.