How to Delete Your Snapchat Account [February 2020]

Ah, Snapchat . . . the popular selfie-taking, video-snapping, and communication application—so much fun! But maybe you’re worried that someone might be taking hard copies of your photos without you knowing. Or, you could just not be that into it anymore. In either case, you’re probably wondering: how does one delete a Snapchat account? Well, we’re here to explain.

Like so many social media platforms today, you can’t very easily navigate within the Snapchat application to delete your account; you’ll need to dig into the app a little further, beneath the surface. That’s where you’ll find the solution for deleting your Snapchat account. Alternatively, you can delete your Snapchat account via the Snapchat website on a desktop computer.

Whichever method you prefer, you’ll find detailed instructions on how to permanently delete your Snapchat account below. Let’s get down to business!

Delete Your Snapchat Account on Desktop

First, we’ll take a look at how to delete your Snapchat account from the app’s desktop website. This method requires a little less digging, so you may find it preferable to the alternative.

Once you’ve opened your web browser of choice from either your smartphone, tablet, Mac, or PC, go to Snapchat.com.

Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on “Support.”

After you get to the Support page, type “delete my account” in the search bar. The option “Delete My Account,” will appear. Go ahead and click it.

This will bring you to a page explaining the consequences and process of deleting your account. We recommend reading through this since it’s a permanent deletion; you want to make sure that you really want to delete your account.

If you’re happy with what you’re reading, you can find the link to the Account Deletion Portal under the heading, How to delete your Snapchat account:

After clicking that link, Snapchat will redirect you to a page asking you to log in to your Snapchat account. THIS IS IMPORTANT!

If all you see is a Snapchat login screen, then you can enter your email and password without deleting your account right away. Then, Snapchat will redirect you to another page asking you to delete your account.

If Snapchat takes you directly to the deletion page, entering your email and password will permanently delete your account.

The account deletion page looks like this:

If you’re ready, enter your login information on this screen to delete your Snapchat account for good.

Delete Your Snapchat Account Through the Mobile App

If you’d prefer to delete your account straight from your phone, you can do so through the official Snapchat mobile app, though it does take a little bit of digging.

Open the Snapchat app on your iOS or Android mobile device. Then, follow the process below to delete your Snapchat account.

First, tap on your profile picture in the top left corner of the main screen:

Now, in the top right corner of your profile page, tap on the Settings icon:

In your Snapchat settings, scroll down until you get to the Support section and choose I Need Help:

This will bring you to the Support Page, which has a search bar front and center. In this search bar, type “delete my account,” and select Delete My Account when it appears:

After that, Snapchat will bring you to the Account Deletion Support page where you’ll be presented with all of the finer details about deleting your account. If you’re happy with everything you see, go ahead and tap on the accounts portal link right under the How to delete your Snapchat account heading:

From there, Snapchat will take you to the real account deletion page. It’ll provide you with a final warning about what deleting your account entails before asking you to enter your login information. To permanently delete your Snapchat account, enter your information and tap Continue:

Your Account Is Now Deleted!

Snapchat states that your account becomes deactivated and, after a full thirty days of inactivity, your account finally gets permanently deleted. So, if you have a change of heart within the first thirty days that you’ve deactivated your account, you can reactivate before that timeframe expires so it won’t get deleted. (To do so, simply log back into your Snapchat account as you normally would, and the deletion will be canceled.)

There you have it. If you truly want to delete your Snapchat account, let it sit for at least thirty days after you’ve initially decided to delete it, and it’ll disappear once those thirty days have passed. Otherwise, your Snapchat account is really only inactivated and, should you snap out of your moment of insanity and realize you love Snapchat and cannot live without it, then reactivate it, pronto!

One thought on “How to Delete Your Snapchat Account [February 2020]”

Avatar Tina says:
i accidentally sent a snap to the wrong person they have not opened/received it because their phone currently is not activated so they can’t receive anything from anyone till. They buy a phone card the app is not running so if I delete my account will that person still receive the snap I sent when they reactivate ther phone card

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.