1

How To Kick or Boot Somebody from a Group in the Line Chat App

Posted by Arch on June 27, 2019
Line Chat App - How to Kick or Boot Somebody from a Group

We live in a world of chat apps. No one likes talking on the phone, and everybody loves sending photos, emojis, links, etc. The Line chat app enables instant cross-device communication and sports a responsive design. Additionally, Line features a variety of services, such as a digital wallet called Line Pay, news streaming called Line Today, and others like Line Webtoon Line Manga.

Chatting on Line is all about groups – hangout chats for friends, family, coworkers, bandmates – you name it. Unfortunately, there may come a time when you’ll want to kick someone from a particular group for whatever reason. Here you’ll learn how to do it.

Removing Somebody from a Group

Keep in mind that, to remove somebody from a Line chat group, you need to have admin privileges. Admin privileges can be received from the group’s current admin, the person who created the group, or by default. Once you have the admin privileges, here’s how to remove someone from a Line chat group.

1.  Open the Line App

The Line app is typically located in your phone’s app list. Enter the app list and find the Line chat app icon. Tap on the icon, and your phone will open the app.

2. Go to the ‘Friends’ Section

Once you’ve opened the app, you’ll see four ‘tabs’ at the very top of your phone screen: Friends, Chats, Timeline, and More. Now, tap the leftmost Friends tab.

3. Find the Group Chat You Want to Kick Somebody From

The Friends section displays all of your Line contacts – individual, as well as groups. Here, you’ll need to find the group that you want to kick an individual from and tap it. This will display a pop-up window with three icons: Group Chat, Posts, and Album.

4. The Members Tab

Once prompted with the three icons, tap Posts. This will take you to a new window with three tabs: Posts, Albums, and Members. Enter the Members tab. Once you’re in the Members section, you’ll see an Add option and a list of group chat members. Above the list of group chat members, you’ll find an Edit button. Tap it.

5. Removing the Desired Member

Taping the Edit button will display a new list of the particular chat’s group members, but this time, there will be a Remove option to the right of every member. Find the member that you want to boot and tap the Remove button next to their name.

Line App - How to Kick or Boot Somebody from a Group

Removing or Blocking

Kicking somebody from a group doesn’t block them. You can still chat with that particular contact in other groups he or she is a member of, as well as on a 1-on-1 basis. You can also add them back to the group in case you’ve changed your mind or if you’ve removed the contact by mistake.

Blocking, alternatively, means that you will no longer receive voice calls, video calls, or chats from the particular account, as long as they come via Line. Additionally, the blocked account will no longer be in your Friends list but will reside in the Blocked Users list instead.

How to Block Someone

If you are absolutely certain that you want to block someone, this is pretty simple and straightforward. Keep in mind, however, that you will no longer be able to communicate with that person, regardless of whether you are in a shared group together or not. Additionally, you won’t be able to add this person to a group any longer, and if you change your mind and want to be able to contact them again, they will have to confirm first.

1. Go to the Friends Section Again

Repeat the instructions from above: go back to the app’s home screen with the Friends, Chats, Timeline, and More sections and tap the Friends tab.

2. Find the Friend You Want to Block

Once you’ve made sure that you’ve found the friend you want to block, tap and hold the account in the Friends tab, then tap Block and confirm with OK.

3. That’s it!

The contact is now blocked and cannot contact you.

Line Chat App - How to Kick or Boot Somebody from Group

Unblocking Someone

If you happen to change your mind or have accidentally blocked someone, here’s how to fix this.

1. Tap More

Go back to the first screen when you enter the Line app. Out of the four sections (Friends, Chats, Timeline, and More), you need to tap More.

2. Unblocking

Once you’ve accessed the More tab, tap Friends, and then tap Blocked Users. On the Blocked Users list, you’ll see the blocked account in question. Tap Edit next to the account. Finally, tap Unblock. Voila!

Careful When Removing/Blocking

Although every action here is reversible, people’s feelings sometimes aren’t. Be careful when removing and blocking people, because they might not accept your unblock later on.

Have you ever had to block a friend on social media? Worse yet, have you ever been blocked by a person you considered a friend? How did that make you feel? Share your thoughts and experiences in the comments below.

One thought on “How To Kick or Boot Somebody from a Group in the Line Chat App”

Sw says:
If I block someone, do I still receive the messages posted by that person through the group chatting?
Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.