How to Remove Friends from Dubsmash

How To Remove Friends From Dubsmash

The advent of camera phones in the last ten years resulted in many popular apps focused on video creation, messaging, and sharing. Most of us are familiar with many of them, including TikTok, Snapchat, and Dubsmash.

While to a non-user, some of these apps may appear indistinguishable, the truth is that they all have their quirks, which set them apart. When Dubsmash first launched in 2014, it immediately became the most downloaded app in Germany. It’s a feat the video messaging app has gone on to accomplish in 29 other countries since.

What Is Dubsmash and Why Is It so Popular?

In a nutshell, Dubsmash is a video messaging app where you can create 10-second videos and share them with your friends. It boasts a massive audio library containing everything from iconic movie quotes to the trendiest internet bytes out there.

You can record lip-sync videos of yourself and friends playing out scenes from your favorite movies and shows, or belting out top-charting hits like they are your creations!

Remove Friends From Dubsmash

You Can’t Unfriend People on Dubsmash

As fun as Dubsmash can be, there are always trolls, haters, and bullies. If you’re not happy with the people who’re viewing your videos, the app provides a simple way for you to block them. Unfortunately, there is no particular way to remove a friend, but blocking a follower will have the same results.

How to Block Someone on Dubsmash?

Blocking will prevent a user from viewing your profile or comment on your videos. To block someone, follow the steps described below.

Step One

Open the Dubsmash app and go to the profile of the user you want to block.

Step Two

You’ll find the overflow menu (three dots) at the top right corner of the page. Look for the option Block User and tap on it.

Step Three

Dubsmash will ask you to confirm whether you want to block the user or not. Confirm your choice. Dubsmash won’t inform the blocked user about the action you’ve taken.

Step Four

In case you’ve mistakenly blocked someone and want to revert, don’t fret. Dubsmash has you covered. Go to your Profile page and tap on the Settings option (gear icon) on the upper left. You’ll find Blocked Users here. Tap on it.

Scroll to the username you want to unblock. Tap on the Unblock option to unblock the user.

Dubsmash

Are You Sure You Want to Block?

It might sound silly to many, but are you sure you want a user blocked? Now, if the user is troubling you, you’ve every right to block them. However, if you merely want to stop people from commenting on your videos, there’s another way you can stop them without blocking. Follow the steps below to make it happen.

Step One

Open the post you want people not to comment on.

Step Two

Tap the overflow menu (three dots) at the top right of the page.

Step Three

Tap on the Edit Post option.

Step Four

Here you’ve quite a few options. Not only can you stop people from commenting on your post, but you also have the option to make your post public or private. Only your friends can see private posts, while the public ones are available for everyone to see.

In case you want people to stop commenting, turn the commenting Off.

Step Five

To confirm, tap Save.

A Word About Safety and Privacy of Dubsmash

Dubsmash claims to take the privacy and safety of its users very seriously. So, if there are any incidents with other users you find offensive, you can reach out to Dubsmash. You can swipe left on a comment on your video and tap the Trash Can icon to remove the comment permanently.

You can also flag someone’s comment as being offensive on another user’s profile. Dubsmash claims that their moderators will look into the comment and take appropriate action within 24 hours.

Enjoy Dubsmash!

Dubsmash can be a fun and entertaining platform, so enjoy responsibly. As mentioned in this article, there’s no way to remove a friend, but you can block them. Doing so will stop their access to your profile altogether.

Have you ever blocked someone on Dubsmash? Have you unblocked them afterward? What do you think about the platform’s security and privacy settings? Give us your two cents in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.