How To Remove Somebody from a Snapchat Group
In its never-ending quest to draw users back to the app with new features, Snapchat released a group chat function in its 2016 update. Although some have criticized Snapchat for trying to copy Instagram again [read: My Story], the social media platform did manage to add its own twist to the new tool. In this article, we’ll learn more about Snapchat’s group chat features, how to edit the groups, and most importantly, how to boot someone you don’t want hanging around.
Snapchat Group Features
When the update was first released, users could create groups with up to 16 people, but Snapchat has since upgraded the feature to support groups of up to 32 people. What makes this group feature truly unique is the fact that the group dissolves after 24 hours (much like your Snapchat story). In other words, the group disappears and with it any messages or remaining snaps shared within the chat. This is distinct from the regular chat function that keeps messages and chats indefinitely.
We say remaining snaps because snaps might disappear earlier than 24 hours. Each member of a group can only play a snap once, and snaps that haven’t been opened by all members of the group stick around until the group disappears. Of course, you can always save snaps and messages before your time is up.
Who is in Your Group?
You’ve been added to a Snapchat group, but before you start sharing, you want to know who else might be seeing your snaps!
You can view all members of the group by going to the group settings. Tap the menu icon in the upper left hand corner to see all group members.
If you want to know who is currently present in the group (i.e. actively looking at the group chat), look above your phone’s keyboard. The names of present members will appear here.
Maybe you just want to know who in the group is looking at your stuff. Tap and hold on the snap or message you sent. You’ll be able to see who has viewed it and who has saved it.
When a Snapchat group is formed, it takes on a life of its own. The creator of the group doesn’t have any special power or privileges. Any group member can rename the group or add new people. To do so, simply go to the group settings. Here, you can also adjust notifications and opt to leave the group altogether.
Note that if you opt to leave a group, all of your contributions (messages and snaps) will disappear. If you are invited back in, they will not be restored – so don’t leave by accident.
Removing People from Groups
Here’s the bad news. You can’t remove another member of the group, even if you created it and invited them in the first place. The only member you can remove is you (see above). However, there are a couple of ways that you can work around this annoying detail.
First, you could just try being straight with them and ask them to leave the group. If that doesn’t work, create a new group with all of the existing members (minus them, of course). Just note that if you do the later, you will not have any of the messages and snaps shared in the original group chat. It’s your call.