0

What is the Little Ribbon/Flag Icon under a Post on Instagram?

Posted by Arch on May 30, 2019

Like some other major social media platforms, Instagram enjoys setting trends by continuously providing new features to its users. In this way, Instagram gives its users an opportunity to get the most out of the platform through innovative new features.

One of the most useful features rolled out by Instagram recently is the addition of a little ribbon (flag) under each post. But what exactly does it do and why is it a great feature to use? Here we’ll go over the “little ribbon”  feature that many Instagram users use every day. I’ll explain everything that you need to know about this feature.

The Instagram Bookmark Button

The ribbon under Instagram posts represents an option to save your favorite photos and create your own album in your profile.

You can use the little ribbon feature much the same way you use bookmarks in a browser. In Instagram, you can organize your saved photos into “collections” which are similar to playlists of songs in Spotify.

If you’ve ever used Pinterest, then you’ll love this feature. Pinterest allows you to create your own collections of pins simply by saving them for later. This is the exact concept of the Instagram bookmark feature.

The way it works is pretty simple: when you see a post you like, simply tap on the bookmark button and you’ll add the photo to your favorites. You can do this as many times as you want and create a collection of your favorite photos.

Before this feature rolled out, users had to either screenshot the image or use a third-party app in order to save it. This button eliminates the need for that and provides a simple and convenient way of keeping all your favorite posts in one place within Instagram.

There is one thing that should be said. Before you go on a bookmarking spree, keep in mind that users will be notified every time you save their post. This means that it might not be a great idea to save a photo that your ex posted months ago. This would be the Instagram equivalent to liking a Facebook post a few months after someone posted it.

Whether this will change or not is unclear at the moment. Considering that there are people that may misuse this feature, the notifications are likely here to stay, so make sure to remember that.

Where Do the saved Instagram Posts Go?

Once you’ve bookmarked your photo, you can find it on your profile. Look for the same ribbon-style button and you’ll enter all of your bookmarked posts.

When you enter the bookmarks album, you’ll see all the Instagram posts that you’ve saved. You can then revisit them as many times as you want. The only way one of your saved photos could disappear is if the user that posted the photo removes it.

The main reason why the Instagram ribbon icon bookmarking feature is an outstanding feature is that you get to save the best of the best photos from your Instagram feed. Most of us tend to double-tap on a bunch of photos, but we may not want to see all of them again. The bookmark feature lets you create a place for all the posts worth revisiting.

Another handy feature is being able to organize the posts you save. When you first go into the album, you’ll see all of the posts that you’ve saved. On the top right, you’ll see the ‘Collections’ tab, which lets you sort the posts based on any criteria. Like Spotify playlists, you can organize your Instagram Collections based on any criteria or theme that makes sense to you.

This way, you have even more control over your saved posts. You can create as many albums as you want and sort the posts you save into them. To create a new Instagram collection, simply tap the ‘+’ button in the upper right corner.

After you’ve done this, give the collection a name. You will then be asked to select the photos from your album and copy them into the collection. This doesn’t remove the photo from the ‘All’ tab, it just copies it into the collection.

Who Sees Your Bookmarked Posts?

If you want to keep the Instagram posts you save private, you’re in luck. Even though the bookmark album button is on your profile, it’s only visible to you, as are all the posts that you’ve saved. When someone else visits your profile, they won’t be able to see the bookmark icon like you do, so nobody else will have access to your saved photos.

This means that your posts are secured and kept away from prying eyes. As long as nobody has your Instagram login data, only you can see them.

How to Remove a Saved Post?

If you no longer want to have a post in a private album, there’s an easy way to remove it. First, go to your bookmarked Instagram photos. Then find the photo that you want to remove. Open it and then just tap on the bookmark icon until it’s transparent.

This will remove the bookmark and it will no longer appear in your album or in a collection.

The Final Word

So now that you know what the little ribbon under Instagram posts represents, go ahead and create an album of your favorite photos. Make sure not to overdo it with one profile, though, and avoid spamming the user with a whole bunch of notifications.

Since it was released, this feature has been loved by many users. If you haven’t used it before, there’s a good chance that it will become a part of your daily Instagram routine. It’s a very helpful feature that allows you to remember all of your favorite moments from Instagram.

As we said before, Instagram surprises its users with new features pretty frequently. Some of the new features are minor, while some of them change the way we use Instagram. So keep enjoying this handy feature until we see the next thing that Instagram has in store for us.

If you enjoyed this article, check this article on the top Instagram hashtags (June  2019).

Do you have any suggestions on how to make better use of Instagram? If so, please leave a comment below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.