How to Tell if Someone Blocked You on Roblox

If you can’t message a friend in Roblox, they may have blocked you for some reason. But how does this function work exactly, and are there other ways to tell if someone has blocked you?

In this article, we’ll tell you everything you need to know about the block function in Roblox. Plus, we’ll provide a few tips and tricks on how to add or remove people yourself.

Knowing If You’ve Been Blocked

The purpose of blocking others in Roblox is to filter out individuals from social interactions. This means there’s a number of “signs” that indicate that you’ve been blocked. In relation to the person that blocked you, you won’t be able to:

  1. Send messages
  2. Send Friend requests
  3. Send Trade requests
  4. Send Ally invites
  5. Chat in-game
  6. Chat with their friends
  7. Send party invites to their friends
  8. Send Clan invites
  9. Follow their friends to games

If you experience any or all of the above, you can be pretty sure that the person in question has blocked you. Note that there’s no direct way to find out if you’ve been blocked – there will be no notifications or messages from administrators. You will have to follow the clues above and play detective in order to find out. If you try to message someone and find out you can’t, the evidence is clear: you’ve been blocked!

Roblox Someone Blocked You

Why Blocking Exists

With over 164 million users worldwide, making sure everyone can enjoy their time on the platform is an important and demanding task. For that reason, Roblox has a team of moderators and automated systems already in place. Introduced in 2014, the Block function was created so that users themselves can police their social experience without the company’s intervention. It serves as a quick fix to any grievances players might have towards one another. The reasons for blocking can be very subjective and all users get to decide whether that kind of action is needed.

How Does It Work

You might already know that blocking someone in Roblox is quite easy. All it takes is going to their profile page, selecting the three dots in the upper right corner, and hitting the “Block user” option from the pop-up menu.

Another way of doing this is to find the member’s username in the leaderboard/player list, in the upper right of the screen. Clicking on it will open up a menu from which you can choose the “Block player” option. If you proceed with the action, the icon by their name will change to a circle-backslash (aka the Universal “No”) symbol, meaning the player was successfully blocked. Note that this method might not work on smaller screens, such as mobile devices. In that case, you’ll need to use the profile page as described above.

A blocked persons list in Roblox is limited to 50 per user. This means that someone who employs this function on a regular basis will have to consider unblocking others at some point. If you’ve blocked someone by accident, you might want to unblock them as soon as possible. Here’s how it’s done:

  1. Navigate to Account settings (gear icon in browser, three dots on mobile).
  2. Go to Privacy.
  3. Select Show Blocked users at the bottom of the screen.
  4. Find the username of the person you wish to unblock.
  5. Select Unblock next to their name.
  6. Hit the Save button.
    Block player

Many users might already be familiar with using the Block function. What might be less obvious is what happens when (and if) you’re on the receiving end of the block.

It Might Not Be Their Fault

Blocking in online games or platforms can have valid reasons and serve as a useful tool to ensure decent behavior among members. The usual reasons it happens in Roblox are rudeness, bothering others, spamming, etc.

If this has happened to you, take note of whether you’ve displayed similar behavior, but also bear in mind that there might not be an objective argument for why you’ve been blocked. Sometimes a user will suffer a block for in-game reasons unrelated to them personally. Don’t forget also that you might get blocked, or block someone else, by mistake.

Don’t Let a Block Get You Down

Now that you know how to find out if someone has blocked you on Roblox, you can take it easy. Even if you’ve been blocked through no fault of your own, by accident, or for some other reason, don’t worry. With such a big community, you can always make new friends to play your favorite games with.

You've been blocked

Finally, whatever you do, if you encounter a person sporting this shirt in-game, don’t follow the instructions on it!

Have you ever been blocked on Roblox? How did you find out? Let us know in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights