1

How to Setup and Use Shared Reminders in iOS

Posted by Melissa Holt on November 8, 2017
shared reminders iphone

The Reminders app included in iOS is a great way to keep track of all of the tasks and events that occupy your day. And while Reminders are nice on an individual basis, you can actually share a Reminders list with other iCloud users to make them truly useful.
Regardless of whether it’s your spouse, children, roommates, friends, or business associates, as long as they have an active iCloud account, you can set up shared reminders for things like grocery lists, bill payments, trip preparations, or collaborative projects. Here’s how to setup Shared Reminders in iOS!

Share a Reminder List

First note that although we’re using an iPhone in our example screenshots, these steps also work for the Reminders app on your iPad or iPod touch. To get started, first launch the Reminders app and you’ll see your Reminder lists. I’ve already created a new list to share, but you can share an existing list or create a new list as desired. Once your list is created, tap it to expand the list:
iphone shared reminders
With the list expanded, tap Edit at the top-right:
iphone shared reminders edit
This will reveal two options at the top of the list. Select Sharing:
iphone shared reminders sharing
On the next screen, tap Add person:
iphone shared reminders add person
Next, tap the To field and search your contacts for the person or people you’d like to share the Reminders list with. They don’t need to own an iPhone or iPad (you can use Reminders online at iCloud.com) but they must have an active iCloud account. Once you’ve selected your contacts, tap Add:
iphone shared reminders add
Next, you’ll see a summary of the people invited to share your Reminders list. Each person will receive an email notification which they’ll have to accept to complete the process. Until they do, you’ll see a Pending status under their name. When you’re all set, tap Done.
iphone shared reminders done
When you return to your Reminders list, you’ll see Shared with… under any of your shared Reminders, which can help you easily identify which lists are private or shared. Once your invitees have accepted, everyone in the shared Reminder list can add, edit, or remove entries, allowing the entire group to stay in sync.

Remove Someone From a Shared Reminder List

If you later want to remove one of your contacts from a shared Reminder list, just head back to the Share With screen (Reminder > Edit > Sharing). Find the person you want to remove and swipe right-to-left over their name. A red Stop Sharing button will appear on the right. Tap it to remove the person. Removing all members from a shared Reminders list will effectively turn it back into a private list that only you can see.
shared reminders stop sharing
Shared Reminders have been a can’t-live-without-it feature for me. I mean, I’m forgetful, so anything I can do to combat my natural tendencies is awesome. However, I can see where it might be problematic for some—after all, you can’t claim you forgot to buy milk when you’ve got a constantly syncing grocery list right in your pocket! We live in the future. A strange future where getting away with being forgetful just isn’t as easy.

One thought on “How to Setup and Use Shared Reminders in iOS”

Steve says:
I love this feature for sharing a grocery list, BUT, every item completed spawns an email to my spouse driving my spouse crazy. How do I keep the sharing and stop the email? I have searched and tried everything.
Reply

Leave a Reply to Steve Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.