How to Find Archived Channels on Slack

Slack is so much more than a chat and file sharing app you use for work. It’s a reliable and very functional workplace communication and organization tool.

Most of the workflow in Slack goes through user channels. So, that’s why it’s essential to know how to manage them. You can edit, rename, and delete channels. And you can also archive them. But what does that mean exactly?

And is there a way to find a channel you archived a while ago? In this article, we’ll tell you everything you need to know about archived channels in Slack.

Where Are Archived Channels?

You can decide to archive a channel instead of deleting it for any reason. If the channel is dedicated to a project that has been inactive for a while, it’s probably best to archive it. Once you do so, it won’t disappear from the list of channels.

However, Slack will remove it from the list of your active conversations. You will be able to see the “archive icon” next to the name of the channel in the sidebar window. You will still have access to all the files and messages on the channel, even after you archive it.

If you need to find something, all you have to do is search the Slack channels using search modifiers. Still, the channel will remain inactive for any further messaging or file sharing. And all the members, as well as apps, from the archived Slack channel, will automatically be removed.

Regardless of your subscription plan, every member, except guests, can archive a channel. That said, workspace owners can disable that feature. When someone archives a Slack channel, Slackbot will notify everyone about the change.

Slack Find Archived Channel

Unarchiving a Slack Channel

When a Slack channel is archived, it doesn’t go away; it becomes inactive. However, things can change, and you might need to reactivate an archived channel. Slack gives you that option. Unarchiving a Slack channel is very simple. All you have to do is follow these steps:

  1. Open Slack on your desktop and then select the “Channel browser” icon (sidebar on the left.)
  2. Enter the name of the channel. Alternatively, select the “Filter” icon and select “Channel Type.”
  3. From the drop-down menu, select “Archived channels.”
  4. Select the channel you were looking for.
  5. Select “Unarchive.”

Your archived Slack channel will become active again. And all the members that got removed will be restored to the channel.

Slack Find Archived Channels

Renaming a Slack Channel

When you archive a Slack channel, you can’t create another channel with the same name. But what if you need to reuse its name?

In that case, you have to unarchive a channel, rename it, and archive it again. So, after you unarchive the channel following the above steps, it’s time to rename it. Here’s how you do that:

  1. Select the channel you want to rename.
  2. Select the “Details” icon and then select “Channel Details.”
  3. Select “… More.”
  4. Click on “Additional Options.”
  5. Select “Rename this channel.”
  6. Type in the new channel name and then select “Rename channel.”

Just remember that a new channel’s name can’t be over 80 characters. And everything has to be in lowercase with no spaces or periods. Also, you can only rename a channel that you have created. Naming and renaming a Slack channel has some other restrictions.

Certain words are reserved regardless of in which country you’re using Slack. If you want to make sure to avoid those words, you can check out this list on the official Slack website.

The #general Channel

The #general channel exists in every single Slack workspace. Everyone who joins is automatically added to #general. It’s usually space where admins and members write announcements or share essential information that everyone has to see.

You can’t archive the #general channel, and therefore you can’t unarchive or delete it. As far as renaming goes, Workspace Admins have the option of changing the name into whatever they feel is more fitting to their workplace environment.

Slack How to Find Archived Channel

Archived Channels Aren’t Going Anywhere

If you’re sure you won’t need a channel, you can pull the trigger and delete it. But if there’s an ounce of chance that the data history from the channel will become useful, it’s probably best to archive it. You won’t even notice it’s there.

And the archive icon will remind you that you can’t post or send any files on that channel anymore. If you need to reuse its name, just unarchive it and rename it. It only takes a few clicks and an idea for a new name.

Have you had to archive a Slack channel before? Have you ever reused channel names? Let us know in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.