0

Does Snapchat Notify the Other User if You Replay a Story?

Posted by Arch on August 25, 2019

Of all the features Snapchat has rolled out over the last several years, it’s Stories that will likely stand the time. Log onto any social media app today, and you’ll likely see a barrage of “stories” from creators, friends, and other people you follow online. Every single app Facebook owns, from their flagship social network to spin-offs like Messenger, WhatsApp, and of course, Instagram. Google has experimented with adding stories to YouTube of all things, and even Skype had a similar stories feature for several months before it was rolled back by Microsoft. With so many apps featuring this derivative idea, it can be tough to remember that it’s Snapchat that is owed the privilege of being praised with first creating and popularizing the idea.

If you’ve flipped through your entire list of Stories in Snapchat, you’ll likely notice that, unlike a standard Snap, you’re presented with a replay button on each Story. If you’ve used Snapchat for years, you know that the app notifies users when someone replays a photo or video. Does Snapchat do the same for Stories? Read on to find out.

Does Snapchat Notify Users If You’ve Seen Their Story?

Yes, but not directly. While some applications allow you full customization when it comes to receiving notifications, Snapchat isn’t one of them. Your notifications work one way and one way only, and you’re stuck with either turning them on off. Ask anyone who has tried to turn off the notifications for when someone begins typing in your chat window—the customization opens within Snapchat is limited to say the least.

So, despite the app notifying you, for example, when someone begins typing, Snapchat’s menu for changing your notifications doesn’t include anything about Stories outside of receiving occasional notifications when your friends post Stories. You may receive notifications about memories, birthdays, or other content, but when it comes to receiving notifications about who viewed your Story, expect your phone to stay silent. It’s an unfortunate missing feature, one we hoped would eventually make an appearance within the app, but unfortunately, it seems as though we’re out of luck for now.

But Can You See Who Viewed Your Story?

While you may not be able to receive notifications for who has viewed your story, you can still see who actually did view it. They may not push you a notification, but Snapchat does allow you to view which of your followers have and haven’t seen your story. It’s a really interesting idea for making this type of network feel a bit more personable, while also knowing exactly what actions people make while viewing your story. While you won’t get any notifications for someone viewing your story twice like you will when someone replays a direct snap, you will receive a notification when someone’s screenshotted your story. Let’s take a look how all this is done.

From the stories screen inside of Snapchat, find your story at the top of the page. You’ll notice several small icons to the right of your story, highlighted in gray. Tap the triple-dotted vertical line icon on the far-right side of your display. This will drop down your story display, showing you each individual photo or video you’ve added to your story in the past twenty-four hours, plus any captions you’ve added to that story so as to identify which photo is which. On the far right of this screen, you’ll see purple icons in the shape of eyes, plus a number to the left. These icons and numbers represent the people who have viewed your story (in our example screenshot, forty-five people viewed the first snap, while forty-two people viewed the second).

It’s not good enough just to know the numbers, though—you need to know the names of who specifically has or hasn’t viewed your story. Snapchat allows you to do that too. Just tap on the eye-con from the display inside Stories, which will open your photo or video playing in the background (if it’s a video, the sound will be muted), along with a list of the names that have viewed your story. This list is in reverse-chronological order, with the top of your list showing you who most-recently viewed your story, and the bottom of your list showing you who least-recently viewed your story. If any of your friends have screenshotted your story, you’ll see a small screenshot icon (two arrows crossed with each other) next to their name.

Finally, you can also view this information from inside your story while viewing it. Tap on your story to view the visuals. At the bottom of the display, you’ll notice a small arrow pointing up on your screen. Swipe up on this arrow to load a full display of the names. You can swipe down to dismiss this display as well.

What If You Replay their Story?

While you can see the entire list of who has viewed your story by using the method above, you actually can’t see how many times someone has viewed your Story. That means that, as a viewer, you can watch and rewatch a Story over and over and over again without having to worry about someone seeing that you’ve viewed their content repeatedly.

Just remember that screenshotting a video does change how you’re viewed on the list of names shown above. There is a special icon for screenshotting, but not for replaying the story.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.