3

How To Tell if Someone Deleted their Discord Account

Posted by Joseph on March 20, 2019

As awesome as Discord is for easy-to-use communication between buds and guildmates, sometimes it can be a bit too much to handle. Certain individuals may feel that there is far too much bickering, trash-talk, have crappy connectivity, or they’d rather use another VoIP option. As far as bickering and trash-talk go, they could always choose to block those who cause them a great deal of annoyance. But for the latter issues, it may have reached the point where they’d rather just be done with it all and pull the plug on their account altogether.

This sort of thing is fine for them, but what about all of their online friends who may wonder where they’ve gone?

“Exactly. I’ve been wondering about a few friends who have seemingly dropped off the face of the earth. I haven’t seen or spoken to them in a few weeks. Is there a way to tell if they’ve deleted their accounts and moved on?”

There is a pretty simple solution to figuring out if someone has deleted their account. Although, it may also seem as if they may have just unfriended you or possibly have been banned. Let’s figure it out together.

 

Has Account Been Deleted

When an account is deleted, the name of the account changes to something along the lines of DeletedUser##### with the # being a bunch of randomly generated numbers. So if your friend currently appears on your Friend List in this manner, their account has been deleted.

The name can also appear in previously posted messages including those within the server chatrooms, direct messages, and any other point of interaction on Discord.

Each account has a unique identification number attached to it at the creation of the account. The accounts username and unique identification number are no longer connected in any meaningful way once an account is deleted. This assures the person whose account has been deleted that their information and previously posted text cannot be traced back to them.

The same DeletedUser##### will appear for those Discord users who have been banned from the platform itself. If someone unfriended you, you’d still be able to see their name as it always was. If blocked, nothing of that user will appear for you in any area of communication.

 

Restoring A Deleted Account

Let’s say that your friend did delete their account but it happened to be on accident. They are freaking out but are unable to figure out what to do to restore it. You only know this because you have communication with this person beyond Discord and are looking to help them out.

Regardless of the reason for the deletion, you can restore the account so long as it’s been within the 30-day window of deletion.

Once the 30 days is up, the account is permanently deleted along with any personal information attached to it. This is done to comply with the demands of GDPR or General Data Protection Regulation.

In order to restore the Discord account to its normal standing:

  1. The user with the deleted account will need to login to Discord via either the desktop or browser app.
    • A pending “Account Scheduled For Deletion” window should pop-up indicating that your account has entered the countdown to permanent destruction.

  2. Just below the I am sure! Button, you should see “Change your mind? Restore Account”.
  3. Click on Restore Account to have access to your account once again.
    • If you do not see the described dialog box when logging in to restore your account, it is already too late. The account is no longer available for restoration and has been permanently deleted.
    • To create a new account, you’d have to begin the process anew.

For accounts that were deleted courtesy of Discord, you will have to create new accounts. It’s possible that the IP attached to your deleted account has also been banned. This means you’ll need to acquire the help of a VPN to circumvent the ban and create a new account.

3 thoughts on “How To Tell if Someone Deleted their Discord Account”

Brooke says:
Will the account show the deleted username for 30 days or will it show normally for 30 days and then after show the username?
Reply
Victoria says:
So are you able to get in any banned discord after the 30 day permanent account is deleted
Reply
John says:
You say that once an account is deleted that the user ID and personal information are no longer linked, does this apply for Discord themselves, or just users?
In other words can discord identify a deleted user and their personal data by using a user id?
Reply
Matthew says:
Ditto this
Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.