0

How To Tell if Someone Screenshots your Facebook Messenger Conversation

Posted by Jamie on December 5, 2019

Facebook Messenger is an incredibly popular messaging app, thanks mostly to its integration with Facebook, which boasts over two billion users.

But some users have some privacy concerns regarding screenshots in Facebook Messenger. Nobody wants their private conversations to be leaked without their knowledge.

Can you tell if someone screenshots Facebook Messenger? Does Facebook notify the other person like Snapchat does? Will they know if I take a copy of a chat?

Snapchat has that screenshot notification system that shows an eye icon if someone has taken a screenshot of a post or Story.

Facebook, on the other hand, does not. Anyone can take a copy of an image, a screenshot of your page, post, or messages without you knowing. Of all of the security features Facebook has introduced since launch, notifications of that type are not among them.

Whenever you use Facebook you should always assume that anything you post, chat about or even mention is not private and could be seen by anyone. If you’re particularly concerned about your privacy, you should probably avoid Facebook altogether.

Once you have that in your mind, it doesn’t matter whether someone screenshots your messages Facebook Messenger or not.

How to Screenshot in Facebook Messenger

There are several ways to screenshot Facebook Messenger depending on whether you use a phone, desktop, or something else. Whatever method you use, there is no current mechanism within Facebook that detects whether a screenshot has been taken. If Facebook doesn’t know, it cannot tell the user.

If you’re asking because you want to take a screenshot, you’re in luck. If you’re asking because you’re worried about your own privacy, then, well, you’re not in luck.

In Android, taking a screenshot is very straightforward. Just open Messenger, go to the conversation or message that you want to capture, and hold down Power and Volume down. This will take a screenshot of the active screen and save it to your Gallery. It will be stored in the DCIM/Screenshots folder.

On iPhone, have the screen open to where you want to take the image and hold the top or side button on the phone. Then, press and release the Home button. The screenshots will be stored in the Screenshots section of your Albums.

On an iPad, do the same as you would on the iPhone, but press the Sleep/Wake button and Volume Up.

On Mac, arrange the screen and press Command + Shift + 5 and Capture Screen/Window or Portion, depending on your needs.

In Windows, you just need to hit the PrtScn key on your keyboard. If you don’t have one of those, use Windows key + Shift + S to bring up the Screen Snip tool and take it from there.

If you’re on the other side of the equation and you think someone has taken a screenshot of something you didn’t want to be shared, you’re, unfortunately, out of luck.

Facebook Secret Conversations

We don’t use Facebook because it is secure. We use it because all of our friends use it. If you were seriously concerned about your privacy, you would’ve deleted your Facebook account long ago.

That doesn’t mean you have to sign away all privacy and hope for the best, though. You could use Facebook Secret Conversations for chats you really don’t want to be shared. As long as you bear in mind that they can still be screenshotted!

Facebook Secret Conversations were introduced to Messenger as a feature a while ago but it has to be enabled to be used. It uses the Signal Protocol to encrypt your messages and have them self-destruct after a given time. Both ends of the conversation need to have Facebook Secret Conversations enabled on a compatible device and you need to set that timer when setting up the app. After that, using it is a breeze.

To use Facebook Secret Conversations, do this:

  1. Update your Messenger to the latest version and get the person you’re chatting with to do the same.
  2. Open the Chats screen and select the Edit icon in the top right of the screen.
  3. Select Secret in the top right of that screen.
  4. Select the person you want to chat with from the list.
  5. Select the time icon to set a timer for the messages to self-destruct.

Facebook Secret Conversations allows you to chat, send images, stickers, videos, and voice recordings, and works just like standard Messenger. Your conversations use end-to-end encryption but they can still be screenshotted without your knowledge.

Facebook Messenger

Facebook and Privacy

You should approach social media with the mindset of not putting anything on any network that you wouldn’t want the world to see. Once it’s out there, it’s out there and people can do whatever they like with it.

That means bearing in mind what you say, how you say it, what kind of images you share, videos you send, and audio recordings you might upload.

Even if you trust the person, it doesn’t mean you will always trust them or that they will always keep your information safe. Always assume the worst and hope for the best. With social networks as huge and as open as the ones we have, it’s all you can do.

Facebook Messenger doesn’t notify you when someone takes a screenshot and there hasn’t been any indication that this feature is coming. So, be sure to always be mindful of what you put in your group chat.

Do you know of any ways to make Facebook Messenger more secure? Have any stories about having chats shared without your knowledge? Tell us about them below if you do!

If you enjoyed this article, be sure to check out our piece on How To Track Someone’s Location Through Facebook Messenger.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.