0

How to Unblock Someone on Snapchat

Posted by Arch on November 20, 2019
how to unblock someone on snapchat

Feeling safe while using the Internet should be your number one concern.

You have the right to protect yourself from anything you consider a violation, personal or otherwise. Social networks offer many options today, but the most common way to do this is to block a person whom you think is behaving inappropriately.

Let’s say you’re a Snapchat user. You’ve blocked someone by mistake, or in anger. That person apologized and now you want to unblock them. If you’re not sure how to do that, read the following guide!

Why Block People on Snapchat?

There are multiple reasons you may want to block someone from contacting you or seeing your posts on Snapchat. They range from the less serious ones, like not wanting to see your ex-boyfriend’s photos and videos anymore, to cyberbullying or someone stalking you. Here’s a list of common reasons why people use the block button on Snapchat:

  1. Someone is sending you unwanted messages, sometimes sexually offensive
  2. Someone is posting offensive comments and calling it ’constructive criticism’
  3. Someone is posting rude and hateful comments for no reason
  4. Some is spamming you, even after you told them to stop

As Snapchat has many young users, one of the reasons can also be a friendship or relationship that’s ended so people don’t want to stay connected on any social media anymore.

Blocking Someone on Snapchat

If you’ve decided to block someone on Snapchat, here’s the simplest way to do it.

The process is easy and takes less than a minute, whether you have or not the person is on your friends list.

If that someone is on your friends list:

  1. First open your Friends list by swiping to the right.
  2. Find the person you want to block.
  3. Hold your finger on their name.
  4. When a list of options appears, tap More.
  5. Find Block and tap.
    setting

If you aren’t friends with this person, find them on Snapchat by typing in their username next to the magnifying glass. Once you find them, the process is the same as for blocking a friend.

Before you block someone, make sure this is what you want to do. You have other options if you want to stop communicating with a person, or seeing their posts. You can remove them from your Friends list, mute their stories, or in the case of online violence, you can also report them.

Unblocking Someone on Snapchat

You’ve changed your mind or you’re friends again with the person you blocked. Or you were trying to retrieve your phone from your younger brother and discovered you blocked someone by accident. These things happen more often than you’d think. So how do you fix it?

Make sure you really want to unblock this person. If it was your harasser, maybe you shouldn’t give them another chance. If you’re sure, here’s how.

  1. Go to the top of your screen and tap on your profile.
  2. Open Settings.
  3. Scroll down until you find Blocked on the list.
  4. Tap on the X sign next to the name of the person you’d like to unblock.
  5. Confirm that you really want to unblock them.
    yes

This person can now see your snaps and stories. Chatting will also be possible between you two, but only after that person accepts your request and adds you as well. Before that, all messages will be pending.

There’s just one catch.

If you were friends with this person before the block, you need to add them to your friends list again. If you were trying to hide the fact that you had blocked them, it’s not going to work.

If this person wasn’t on your friends list previously, there’s nothing to worry about. Depending on your privacy settings, this person will be able to see your content again.

Do You Know Who You’re Sharing Your Snaps with?

Now that we’ve mentioned it, you should pay attention to your privacy settings. The chances of experiencing unpleasant situations on Snapchat are lower if you keep your content private and only visible to your friends.

If you’re not sure who you’re sharing your content with, here’s how to check:

  1. Go to your profile and tap on Settings.
  2. Scroll down until you find the section titled Who can…
  3. Choose who can contact you, send you notifications, see your stories and your location, and see you in Quick Add.
  4. Tap Back to save your choices.
    settings

Make sure you have control over who can see what you post on this app. We’ll just remind you that if you enable everyone to contact you via Snapchat, they can send you messages and photos even when they’re not on your friends list.

Be Safe, Not Sorry

It’s easy to block and unblock people on Snapchat, but it’s even easier to be careful about who you share with and who you add to your friends list. If the block happened by mistake, luckily, it can be undone in a minute. You can then go back to having fun on Snapchat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.