0

How To Delete all Bookmarks in Chrome

Posted by Arch on November 27, 2018

Google Chrome may be a taxing browser on most system configurations but that takes very little away from it. It is still one of the most popular and most used browsers around the world. The browser loads pages quicker than others and has a lower failure rate.

As a Google product, the browser does a good job of allowing its users to sync various devices used by the same account. This allows users to share bookmarks, browsing history, autofill data, and various other logs across multiple devices.

This obviously helps speed up the browsing experience. However, at the same time, it may cause the account profile to become cluttered with saved websites, passwords, extensions, and other resource-draining features.

Luckily, there are also ways to dispose of the excess clutter. Bookmarks, in particular, are easy to manage and easy to delete when no longer relevant. Here are a few methods for removing unnecessary bookmarks in Chrome.

Delete Bookmarks One by One

The easiest method to start deleting bookmarks in Chrome is as follows.

  1. Right click the bookmark
  2. Select Delete from the context menu

This works with all bookmarks whether they’re in the manager, the bookmarks bar, or the list of bookmarks from the Chrome menu. Be aware that this method doesn’t require any confirmation so you might not be able to recover the bookmark once clicking the Delete button.

Bookmark Manager

The bookmark manager is a Chrome feature that allows you to view and sort all of your bookmarks. You can categorize them in different folders or arrange them based on their importance.

If you’ve synced your devices and you access Chrome with your Google account, you will be able to browse through all bookmarks made on your other devices. Also, if you decide to use the bookmark manager, you will be able to delete entire folders. This makes clearing your list a lot easier.

  1. Press Ctrl + Shift + O to open the bookmark manager
  2. Choose the bookmarks that you want to delete

Note that for synced accounts, mobile bookmarks will have their own folder. Alternatively, you could also type “chrome://bookmarks”. That will open the bookmark manager in your current tab.

Either method will do. You should see the following folders.

  1. Bookmarks bar
  2. Other bookmarks
  3. Mobile bookmarks

The list will be longer if you’ve created your own folders. To delete them, simply right click on the folder and select Delete.

From the bookmark manager page, you can also use keywords to search for specific bookmarks. This allows you to perform very accurate searches and delete just the entries you are sure about.

Deleting Browsing History or All Saved Data?

If you want to delete your browsing history and all information saved on your Google account, know that you can’t also delete your bookmarks using the same method. Using the Clear Browsing Data feature only gets rid of cookies, browsing and download history, autofill data, passwords, cached files, etc.

Chrome doesn’t have a Profile folder so deleting all bookmarks at once is a different process.

  1. Open the Run dialog box or Search box
  2. Type “%LocalAppData%\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default” and press Enter
  3. Locate the Bookmarks file
  4. Right click it and choose Delete

This will remove all bookmarks ever created since you’ve installed Chrome on your device. However, it will not delete bookmarks saved on other devices even if the devices are synced under the same account. Also note that for this to work, you should close all instances of Chrome.

If you only want to delete bookmarks from a specific account and you deleted something important by accident, you can use the same folder path to recover it. On occasion, Chrome performs backups. These backups include bookmark data.

That data is found in the bookmarks.bak file under \User Data\Default. If you change the extension of the .bak file to .old, you might be able to recover your recently deleted bookmarks.

A Final Thought

Deleting the bookmarks file is a rather drastic measure. If you’re concerned that your list of bookmarks has gotten too large to manage, deleting everything may not always be a good idea. You could also lose important shortcuts to pages that may take a long time to find in the future.

Sometimes deleting bookmarks one by one is better even if it takes longer. Keep in mind that a long list of bookmarks doesn’t drain as many resources as having too many cached video files and cookies saved on your account.

Of course, if you want to be most efficient, it’d be ideal to organize all your bookmarks into specific folders and do so with all new bookmarks as soon as you save them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *