0

How To Make a Private Story in the Snapchat App

Posted by Anna Middleton on June 5, 2019
Snapchat How to Make a Private Story

Why are Snapchat stories so useful? Putting together a story is one of the fastest ways to post the main highlights of your day or of an event. It’s also one of the fastest ways for people to catch up with what you’ve been doing without going through entire albums with hundreds of photos.

But if you’re an outgoing person, you’ll eventually add Snapchat friends you aren’t exactly close to. You may even add people you never spoke with.

This means that when you want to share some personal stories, it would be very convenient to have the option to be more selective about who gets to see them. Luckily, this is not an issue in Snapchat.

Understanding Snapchat Stories

Snapchat gives you the option to use “My Story” and “Our Story”. Each feature is designed for a very specific purpose. While everyone should know by now what “My Story” stands for, there are probably still a few users that haven’t tried “Out Story”

This feature was introduced to allow Snapchatters to contribute to stories in groups. Snapchat designed the app for use at events, to discuss various topics, capture amazing scenery or travel adventures, and so on. The main idea is that more than one person can contribute.

Both types of stories will stay up for 24 hours before being automatically deleted and all of them are essentially customizable. But, depending on who gets access to view the stories, you can also classify them by the following designations:

Snapchat How to Make Private Story

Custom

Custom stories were the latest addition to the Snapchat Story feature. It’s a highly popular update due to the level of control you can exercise. You can also create custom stories with friends since the “Our Story” feature was added.

In this case, each member of the group can contribute with their own pictures and videos, and so enrich the story. Custom stories can only be seen by contributors by default. However, you can change viewing privileges and let other friends see them too.

Geo

Geo stories, which use geofencing, allow you to create stories that display your location too. Snapchat will draw a one-block radius around your location, so you can invite people nearby to contribute to the story. Friends, friends of friends, and others in your one-block radius can add to the story you’ve created, if you allow them to.

Private

Private stories can be shared with as many or as few people as you want. You can share them only with your family, coworkers, a few close friends, or just with yourself.

Creating a New Private Story

  1. Go to the “Stories” page
  2. Tap the “Create Story” icon
  3. Select “Private Story”
    private story
  4. Choose which people can view it

If you only select your name, then this new private story will only be visible to you once you submit it.

Assigning Viewing Privileges

What’s also nice about Snapchat is that the app allows you to change viewing privileges on stories even after posting them. The steps involved are easy to follow.

  1. Go to your profile page
  2. Tap “Settings”
    how to make a private story on snapchat
  3. Go to “Who Can…” tab
  4. Select “View My Story”
    how to make private story on snapchat
  5. You will get three choices: Everyone, Friends Only, and Custom.
  6. Tap “Custom”

Choosing “Everyone” is not the way to go if you want privacy for the content you’re posting with the story. Selecting “Friends Only” will make the story private for anyone outside your contact list. This includes friends of friends and people inside your geofence.

The “Custom” option will allow you to choose which friends you want to be able to see your story. Whether you pick one or two close friends, a select group, or even just yourself, it’s totally up to you.

  1. Tap the “Back” button to save changes

Additional Information on Private Snapchat Stories

There are no notifications sent out when you allow someone to view your private story – to them, it will just look like any other story. So you can’t really use this feature as a marketing tool unless you let people know that they’re the only ones getting access to your content. If you do want to use it that way, announce that you’re going to post an exclusive story and only a select few get access.

Private or not, all stories on Snapchat last 24 hours. Even group stories created during events or trips last only one day. So don’t forget to tick the save option when you’re creating a new private story, as it will keep you from losing your snaps.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.