How to View Your Profile as a Friend on Facebook

Facebook How to View As Friend

Where do people go to make declarations about their lives? Where do they go to be funny or express inner thoughts? Well, they go to social media, and they post. It’s the most natural thing to do in this day and age. However, it doesn’t mean it’s okay to be reckless about privacy settings.

Facebook has a great feature that lets users see what their profile looks like from the perspective of other users. So, how do you access it?

Where to Find the “View As” Button?

Facebook has created a feature called View As for the specific purpose of users checking what their profile looks from the perspective of someone who is not their friend. But it can also show you what your profile looks when one of your Facebook friends clicks on it.

The purpose of this tool is to make sure you control what’s visible and what’s isn’t. This option is useful even when you’re trying to hide certain details from specific people. Here is how you use the View As feature:

  1. Log into your Facebook page and go to your profile.
  2. At the right corner of your cover photo, you should click on three dots next to “Activity Log.”
  3. From the pop-up menu, select “View As.”

Facebook will then show you what your profile looks like from the perspective of someone who is not your friend. On top of the screen, you will see the following notification, “This is what your profile looks like to Public.”

Now, if you want to see what your profile looks like to one of your friends, you need to click on the “View as Specific Person” option. You can find it at the top of the screen. Once you do that, type in the name of one of your friends, and you will be able to see your profile page from their angle. You can use this feature to customize which friends see your posts and how often.

Facebook

“View As” Controversy

Those familiar with this feature might have noticed that it was missing for a while. To be exact, View As was not available on Facebook from September 2018 to May 2019. That’s is not a short period, considering the pace at which social media platforms work and evolve. But the reason behind the hiatus of this feature was complicated.

Namely, Facebook disabled it after a data breach that compromised over 50 million user accounts. And the “View As” button was the culprit. There are no reports about whether or not these accounts were misused in any way, but just knowing that there was a security issue makes a lot of people uncomfortable. Fortunately, Facebook resolved the problem and reinstated the “View As” button.

How to View As Friend

Restricted List

Creating a restricted list on Facebook is a great way to control your timeline even further. For example, you might have added your boss on Facebook, but now you feel like you can’t be as free in posting those political rants. All you need to do is check the View As feature from your boss’s perspective. After that, proceed to put them on the list. Here is how you do it:

  1. Go to the person’s Facebook profile.
  2. Click the “Friends” button on their profile.
  3. Click “Add to another list.”
  4. Click “Restricted.”

To make sure that a stranger doesn’t see your posts, select the “Friends” option for the audience of your posts. Unlike choosing “Public,” a stranger won’t be able to see what you’ve posted. Similarly, you can add people to the “Close Friends” list. All you need to do is follow the steps listed above, and instead of “Restricted,” select “Close Friends.”

Managing Tagging on Facebook

Tagging in photos and posts in general on Facebook can be problematic. Once someone has tagged you in a post, it will appear on your timeline. But you can review the post before it hits your wall. To do that, you have to turn on Timeline Review. Here’s how you do it:

  1. Log into Facebook and go to Settings.
  2. On the left side, select “Timelines and Tagging.”
  3. Find the option that says, “Review posts you’re tagged in before the posts appear on your timeline?”
  4. Click “Edit.”
  5. Click “Enabled.”

That’s it. Now you can be sure nothing unrevised slips into your timeline.

Facebook View As Friend

Mastering Your Facebook Profile

Facebook has been around for a while, and many people invested lots of time and energy into their profiles. It’s almost as a treasure trove of memories. Ensuring that you have the power to control who can see what is essential. And Facebook understands that hence a unique feature just for that.

Have you used the “View As” option before? Has it made you change your profile? Let us know in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.