How To Know if Someone Deleted You on Snapchat
The wildly popular photo-sharing and chatting application Snapchat built its brand on the idea that snaps would only last a few seconds before being deleted forever. Although that promise is something of a mirage (since there are a variety of ways both open and sneaky that people can use to bypass that feature), the basic idea of Snapchat is still that Snapchat is somewhat more private than other social apps.
In accordance with that basic philosophy, Snapchat does not make it easy to tell if someone has blocked or unfollowed you. There are no notifications when that occurs, and you can’t ask them whether it has happened. (Well, you can ask, but they won’t tell you.) However, those users with a bit of time and ingenuity can use several different strategies to find out whether someone has unfollowed or blocked you. In this article, I will go over those strategies and show you how to figure this out.
Let’s start by going over the way in which Snapchat works. When you post a picture or video to the app, you have three different options:
- Snap a select group of followers (or all of your followers). These expire 10 seconds after being viewed. This is the standard way to snap.
- Add a snap to your story. Your story can be made accessible to all of your followers, just your friends, or a select group of people. These snaps expire after 24 hours.
- Snap someone in a private message. This snap is only available to you and the recipient. These snaps never expire, if either you or the recipient choose to save them within the private message thread.
When you join Snapchat you are given the option to follow various people, and of course you can always follow additional people later. When you follow someone, you are their “follower” but they are your “friend”. That is, people you have followed are labeled as your “friends” within the app, and they are the people you see on your friends list. Unlike some other apps where friendship has to be two-way before it exists, on Snapchat they become your friend as soon as you follow them, even if they don’t follow you back. (If they do follow you back, then of course you appear on their friends list as well.)
So a friend is someone you follow. Once you follow them, they are added to your friends list and you can see any snapped content they make available to their followers.
So what does it mean to “delete” someone.?In most cases, this means deleting someone from your list of followed accounts. In other words, you unfollow them. This does not stop them from following you or affect their ability to see your snaps. If you want to distance yourself even further from someone, you can block them. If you block someone, then from their perspective, you have disappeared from Snapchat altogether. They will not be able to follow you or message you, even if they know your Snapchat username or have access to your snapcode.
How to Tell If Someone Unfollowed You
Snapchat does not send out a notification if someone unfollows you, or if you unfollow someone. The only way you will be able to tell if someone has unfollowed you is by keeping tabs on your followers list, and checking it to see if someone has disappeared.
For example, let’s say you know that a particular person was following you at some point. If you are following them too, they should be on your friends list.
- Swipe right from the camera screen to the friends screen.
- Tap in the Search bar, and type in the name of the user you are looking for.
- Wait until their name pops up.
When it does, you will see their name, their Snapchat username, and their snap score. You can only see the snap scores of people you follow who follow you back. If the score is there, then the person has not unfollowed you. If it isn’t… then it looks like they have hit the fatal “Remove Friend” button.
What If I Don’t Follow Them?
But wait! That technique assumes that you are following the person. If you don’t follow them, then you wouldn’t see their snap score anyway, so that little trick won’t work. Unfortunately, there isn’t really a good way to tell if someone is or isn’t following you aside from that.
Another approach is to look at the people who have viewed your stories.
- Add a photo to your story.
- Click the Bitmoji, which will now be a preview of your story.
- Tap the image in the list to view it.
- Tap the eye icon in the lower left hand corner.
Now can see the names of everyone who viewed that snap. Now you’ll know that the people who show up from tapping the eye icon are following you.
How to Tell if Someone Blocked You
Figuring out if someone blocked you on Snapchat is actually pretty easy to confirm, though you will still have to do a little digging.
If they were friends of yours on Snapchat at one point, then check “My Friends.” If they are still listed but you can no longer see their snapscore, then they unfollowed you. If you can’t see them at all, then they have blocked you (or deleted their account and quit Snapchat).
If they weren’t your Snapchat friend, then you can check by searching for them. If you have been blocked, you should not be able to find them or add them, even if you know their username. You also will not be able to send them a private message.
Need more information on using Snapchat?
If you want to personalize your Snapchat experience, you should read our tutorial on adding your own custom stickers to Snapchat.
Want to use Snapchat on your computer? See our article on using Snapchat without an app.
Shhh! I have a secret! Find out how to get access to secret filters on Snapchat.
Feeling lonely? Discover how to find out if someone has added you on Snapchat.
Worried that someone is a little too interested in your snaps? See how to tell if someone is stalking you on Snapchat.
Do you have some favorite tips or tricks to use with Snapchat? If so, then share them with us below!