What Does Clear Conversation Do in Snapchat
When you’re texting your friends via Snapchat, all your conversations remain on your Friends screen.
This means that you can always return to some old conversations that you had with your friends, whether you want to retrieve useful info or just reminisce.
But over time, your Friend screen can become overcrowded with conversations that you don’t want to see anymore. To make them disappear from the screen, you can use the ‘Clear Conversation’ option.
This article will explain how and why to clear your conversations, and it will also cover some other ways to remove messages from Snapchat.
How to Clear Conversation
If you want to remove a Snapchat conversation, you will have to follow these steps:
- Open Snapchat.
- Log in to your account.
- Tap the Settings button (gear icon) on the profile menu. It’s on the top-right side.
- Go down and tap the ‘Clear conversations’ option.
- Choose the name of the conversation that you want to remove.
- Tap the ‘X’ sign next to it in order to remove it from the screen.
- The app will ask if you’re sure that you want to delete the conversation. Confirm the deletion.
If you want to leave your conversation screen blank, you can also choose to clear all the conversations at the same time.
Think twice when you choose which conversation to clear. Once you delete them from the Friend screen, you will not be able to bring them back. If you believe there’s valuable info in a conversation, save it before you delete everything.
What Does ‘Clear Conversation’ Remove?
When you clear a conversation, you merely remove it from your screen. The other user will still be able to see all the content from the conversation unless they’ve cleared it too. Clearing a Snapchat conversation on your phone will not erase it from other users’ accounts.
It also doesn’t remove any saved content. If a message is saved, you have to unsave it before you can delete it for good.
How to Delete Saved Messages?
Once you’ve cleared the conversations, the saved messages will remain in the inbox. To delete a saved message, you will have to:
- Open the main inbox menu and find the saved message that you want to remove.
- Tap on it and hold for some time.
- The message font will turn from bold to normal and you will see ‘Unsaved’ on the left of the message.
When the message becomes unsaved, it will disappear from the inbox. If you’ve cleared the conversation, the message will be gone forever.
Why Should I Use the ‘Clear Conversation’ Option?
Clearing conversations tidies up your Friend screen and also helps the app work properly. Unnecessary data can use up Snapchat resources and make the app malfunction or work slower. So, clearing up unnecessary conversations makes the app look nicer and run smoother.
Is the ‘Delete Chat’ Option Different?
Yes, it is. Deleting a chat is an option that will completely remove your message. Unless your friend has already saved that message, they won’t be able to see it.
Once you delete your message, other members of the conversation will just see the information that you’ve removed your text.
To delete a text, you should:
- Open a chat with the message that you want to remove.
- Tap on your message and wait.
- A ‘Delete Chat?’ window will appear. Snapchat will ask you to confirm and it will inform you that your friends will see that you’ve deleted something.
- Tap on the ‘Delete’ button.
Keep in mind that you can delete stickers, emojis, text, audio files, as well as the pictures and videos that you send from your memories section. You can’t delete the images and video recordings that you take and send directly via the chat.
Also, if you send a message and delete it later, your friends might have seen it already. Try to delete unwanted messages as quickly as possible.
If your friend saved the message, you will be able to delete it for yourself, but it will remain saved on their accounts.
If you want to make your Snapchat tidy and easy to use, you can clear all the unnecessary conversations. Once you do that, you won’t be able to see them, but other participants can still access it on their Snapchat profiles. To make a conversation disappear completely, all the participants should clear it.
If you want to make a message unavailable to all the participants of the conversation, you can use the Delete chat option. But there is still a chance they saw or saved the message before that. While the deletion options are useful, you should still message people responsibly.