How To Know or Tell if Someone Blocked You on Kik
Kik, the popular and relatively new cross-platform messaging app is famous (and in some ways notorious) for its emphasis on anonymity. Given how much Kik values privacy, it should come as no surprise that their system for blocking users is strict and straight-forward. If you’re the one doing the blocking, take comfort in knowing that your virtual personal space is being respected. On the other hand, if you’re the one being blocked, you may find your recourse extremely limited. What’s more, you may not even realize you’re being blocked. In either case, you’ll find this guide to blocking and unblocking on Kik illuminating.
What is Blocking?
Ok. Yes, we know that blocking is something you do to users who upset you in an online platform. But what is actually happening when you block someone on Kik (or are blocked by them)? The answer is fairly simple: the blocker will not receive any of the blockee’s messages. That’s not to say that the blockee can’t send any messages, just that those messages will never be received.
It’s important for anyone thinking of blocking someone to note that this will not affect any communications prior to the blocking. Blockees can see all of your shared communication history. Don’t perform this action in an attempt to remove unwanted information; it won’t work.
How Do I Block or Unblock Someone?
First, let’s look at how you block or unblock someone on Kik. These steps may differ depending on your device.
- Open a chat with the person you wish to block.
- Click or tap on their name at the top of the chat.
- Click or tap More.
- Click or tap Block “name.”
- Click or tap Block again to confirm the action.
- Go to Settings.
- Tap Privacy.
- Tap Block List. (Note: you can come here to view a list of all users that you’ve blocked.
- Tap the plus sign.
- Tap the user’s name.
- Tap Block.
Unblocking someone is as easy as blocking them. Simply follow the same steps as you see above. You’ll notice that it says “unblock” wherever it used to say “block.”
How Can I Tell if I’ve Been Blocked?
Kik will not notify you if you’ve been blocked. There will be no special message, no banners, and no alerts. The only way to know if you’ve been blocked is by paying close attention to your sent messages. Whenever you send a message through Kik, you’ll notice that it has a small “D” to the left of the message. This “D” stands for “delivered.” However, once the user that you are trying to reach actually receives the message, the “D” becomes an “R” for “received.”
Note that when a user is blocked, his or her messages can be sent but not received. If your messages to a specific user never turn from “D” to “R,” then you have almost certainly been blocked by that user. The only other explanation might be a technical issue. However, there are no commonly known Kik technical issues associated with messages being sent but not received.
Can I Get Around the Block?
No. If you’ve been searching online for a way to tell if someone’s blocked you on Kik, then you might have come across a popular strategy for circumventing the block. Websites were instructing blocked users to invite the blockers to a group chat and message them through the group chat. This strategy may have worked for a while, but it has since been fixed in a Kik update. Now, blocked users can no longer invite blockers to group chats. On a side note, the inability to add someone may be another sign that you’ve been blocked.
The only way to get around a block, is to get unblocked. The only way to do that is to appeal to the user who blocked you and have them perform the necessary steps in their account. If you have no way of contacting that person other than through Kik, you’ll just have to be patient and see if they decide to do it on their own.