How To Delete Match Account/Profile Permanently
Match.com is an online dating service, founded two decades ago. Judging by the success of Tinder and other matchmaking alternatives in recent years, the custom of finding a partner/date online has already become a regular thing. Many people have met the loves of their lives via Match.com and it seems that many more might do so in the future.
Of course, at some point, you might not need or want this type of service anymore. This can occur either because you might’ve found love that you’ve been looking for, or because it just might not be your thing. Whatever the case, you’ll want to delete your match.com account, so here’s how to do it.
Cancel Your Email Subscription
If you no longer need your match.com account, the first thing to do is to cancel the email subscription. This is done simply by accessing the last promo email or update sent to you by the website and finding the ‘unsubscribe’ or ‘stop receiving emails’ link.
Another way to cancel the email subscription is by going to the Settings section on match.com and navigating to account settings. There should be a ‘cancel subscription’ link in there.
Disable Your Account
If you want to deactivate your account but still be able to access it, should the need arise, then disabling it is the way to go. Disabling your match.com account is fairly easy and straightforward, but here’s a step-by-step guide to doing it successfully.
- Go to https://www.match.com in your preferred web browser.
- Sign in by entering your email and password.
- Find the Profile tab and click it.
- In the profile menu, click the gear icon (Settings) in the top right corner of your screen.
- In the account settings, you’ll see the Change/Cancel Membership Click it.
- You will be prompted to enter your password. Do it and click the Continue Cancellation
- Next, you’ll see the Cancel Membership and Remove profile Click it.
Once you’ve done all this, your match.com account will be deleted. You will receive a confirmation email, and you won’t be visible to other users any longer. Bear in mind that you should cancel all subscriptions, particularly if they’re paid, before deleting the account. The benefit of disabling your account over deleting it is being able to reactivate it by simply logging back in. If you disable your account and don’t access it in two years, it will be permanently deleted.
Permanently Delete Your Account
If you don’t want your account to be available ever again, which is absolutely understandable and fine, here’s how to do it. First of all, consider carefully whether you want to say goodbye to your match.com forever. If you are certain, proceed to the next steps.
- Log into your account.
- Go to My account settings section that’s accessible through clicking on your profile picture at the top right corner of any page on match.com.
- Go to Manage my subscriptions if you have any and cancel them.
- Find the Suspend your account at the bottom and click it.
- Now, confirm by clicking on the To cancel your account, click here
Do not try to log in or do anything related to match.com, and your profile will be permanently deleted within the next 24 hours.
These social media deletion pages can be quite tricky. Also, some sites keep your deleted account for much longer. For instance, the option to delete your Facebook account is buried deep in the Settings menu. Moreover, Facebook now keeps all deleted accounts for full 30 days (used to be 15) before permanently deleting them.
Fear not, though, there is always a way to permanently get rid of any social media account. Sometimes you might have to work for it and other times it’s straightforward.
Have you ever permanently deleted an account on a social network? Did you have any trouble? Are you an ex-user of match.com? Hit the comments section below and tell us your story!