0

How to Factory Reset Your Google Home Hub

Posted by Arch on October 31, 2019
how to delete google home hub

Google Home Hub is a combination of smart devices connected to a mobile app that allows you to have complete control of your home.

This Hub is linked to your Google account, meaning that once you set it up it will store all personalized data, history, and modifications there. Deleting the Google Home Hub essentially means you unlinking your account and resetting your devices.

If you want to venture into this thorough process, keep reading this article.

Step One: Unlink Your Account from Google Home Hub Devices

The first thing that you’ve got to do is remove your Google account from your Google Home Hub. This means that you should unlink your account from all the connected Home Hub devices, so you can perform a factory reset and start all over again.

Follow these steps:

  1. Make sure that your smart device (either Android or iOS) is connected to the same network as your Google Home Hub.
  2. Launch the Google Home Hub app on your smartphone.
  3. Tap the ‘Devices’ button at the top-right of the screen.
  4. Look for your Google Home device.
  5. Tap the menu at the top-right of your device’s box.
  6. Select ‘Settings’.
  7. Tap ‘Linked accounts’.
  8. Select the ‘X’ beside your Google account.
  9. Confirm account removal and enter your credentials if prompted.
  10. Select ‘Unlink’.
    title

By following one of these methods, you’ll remove your account from the Google Home Hub. However, the linked devices and everything that you’ve added to them will remain. You should remove your Home Hub and hard reset all your devices one-by-one to completely remove the Hub.

Step Two: Unlink the Devices and Delete Home

Now that your account isn’t associated with the Home Hub, you can easily unlink all the connected devices. To do so, you should follow these instructions:

  1. Launch the Google Home Hub app.
  2. Tap the plus sign at the top-right of the screen.
  3. Select the ‘Set up device’ option.
  4. Tap ‘Have something already set up?’ at the bottom of the menu. You’ll see all the devices linked to your Hub system.
  5. Tap ‘x’ next to each one to unlink them from your Google Home.

After all the devices are unlinked, you can delete your Google Home. To do so, just tap the ‘Settings’ button on the Google Home Hub app and select ‘Delete This Home’.

If you’ve disconnected all the devices from your home and unlinked all the accounts of your household members, the app will delete your Home Hub. All that remains is to factory reset your Hub devices.

Step Three: Factory Reset Your Devices

Although you’ve unlinked all the devices from your Google Home, all the customized data on them will remain. That’s why you need to perform a factory reset on them.

When you factory reset your devices they will return to their initial settings (the way they were when you first unpacked them). This is the final step that sets your Google Home Hub up for a fresh start.

Each of the Google Home Hub devices requires a different method for factory reset, and we’ll go through each:

  1. Google Home: Long press the mic mute button at the rear end of the device. Hold it until you hear the Google Assistant confirming the command.
  2. Google Nest Mini: Turn the microphone off (the button is on the side) and wait for the LED light to become orange. Long-press the center of the device (the lights are on top of the center) and the reset will commence shortly.
  3. Google Home Mini: This device has a built-in hard reset button right under the power cord. Press and hold it until you hear the sound confirming that the device is reset.
  4. Google Home Max: Just like the device above, Home Max has a built-in factory reset button at the back of the device. Press and hold it for around 15 seconds and Google Assistant should confirm that it’s resetting the device.
  5. Google Nest Hub: To factory reset this device, you need to long-press both volume keys at the rear end of the device. You can apply the same method for the Google Nest Hub Max.

Once you unlink your account and then unlink the devices and factory reset them, you are ready to start from scratch. Just launch the app and the device again, set it up (with a new account) and link the devices again.
delete google home hub

Google Account Data Remains on the Account

Before you venture into deleting Google Home Hub, you should know that anything related to the removed account will remain on the Cloud and won’t disappear. Therefore, if you decide to link the same account again, all data and history such as voice snippets will remain in the activity log.

So the best way to start over is to create a completely new account for Google Home Hub or to clear your entire account history before you connect it to the hub again.

Why do you want to erase your Google Home Hub? Would you create a new account? Share your thoughts in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.