How to Delete Your Tinder Account

Is it time to retire your Tinder account?

Maybe you’re in a committed relationship now and don’t need the app. Or maybe you’re just tired of the dating game. If you need a break from swiping left (or right) on dating prospects, deleting your app simply isn’t enough.

You need to delete your account to make sure that you remove yourself from the dating pool completely.

Keep reading to learn important information about deleting your Tinder account, or maybe starting a new one with an equally new profile.

How to Delete Your Tinder Account

Tinder doesn’t quite work the way other apps do. If you tap that Uninstall button for the app, your account doesn’t necessarily go away. Your account is still active, and that means all the matches, messages, and pictures are still there. You just can’t see them until you reinstall the app and sign in again.

That may be okay if you want to take a temporary break, but it can pose problems if you’re in a serious relationship. Why? Your profile can still come up as a possible match for others. You may not know it, but other people can still see it.

And your data is still available and vulnerable to possible breaches in their system. If you want to delete your account, profile and all, follow these simple steps:

  • Open the app and go to your Profile. The icon is in the upper left-hand corner of your screen

  • Tap on Settings and scroll down to the bottom. Hit Delete account to continue

  • Choose whether you want to deactivate your account or permanently delete it

  • Let Tinder know why you want out of their app

  • Delete/Uninstall the app from your phone

Unfortunately, if you have a Tinder Plus subscription it’s not automatically canceled when you delete your account. You need to take care of that separately by going to the Google Play Store or App Store and unsubscribing.

tinder account

How to Delete Your Tinder Account and Start Over

Have you run out of people in your area? If you have, starting over on Tinder may get you another shot at matching. But you need to do it carefully.

Starting a new account right after deleting your old one can get you shadowbanned from the app. That means that you’ll be able to create a new profile, but you won’t receive any matches or messages. Why? Tinder may think you’re a bot because of that suspicious behavior of, you know, deleting and immediately recreating an account.

Also, keep in mind that a new Tinder account will need a different phone number and Facebook. You can get out of these requirements if you wait three months after deleting an old account to start a new one. That way, your old data is sufficiently purged from the system.

If this is something you still want to do, follow the steps below to get started:

For Facebook Logins

  • Delete your old Tinder account permanently

  • Open your Facebook app and go to Settings and then Apps & Websites

  • Select Tinder and scroll down and tap Remove App to unlink it from your Facebook profile

  • Confirm the removal

  • Create a new Facebook account using a different email than your previous Facebook profile

  • Install the Tinder app from your favorite app store

  • Log into Facebook

  • Open the Tinder app and create a new account with a new phone number

For Cell Phone Logins

  • Delete your Tinder account permanently

  • Reinstall the Tinder app

  • Create a new account with a new phone number

If you wait the requisite minimum of three months before installing Tinder again, you don’t need to use a different phone number.

How to Delete Your Tinder Account and Restore Your Purchases

Super Likes, Read Receipts, and Boosts packs are in-app consumable purchases that you can get on the Tinder app. Unfortunately, if you delete your account and create a new one, you can’t restore those purchases. They’re gone forever.

Additional FAQs

tinder delete account

What to Do If Tinder Fails to Delete My Account

There are a couple of reasons why Tinder may fail to delete your account. The first is a weak internet connection. If your account deletion won’t go through, check your internet signal and try again.

Tinder may also be experiencing technical difficulties on their end. If that’s the case, the only thing you can do is try again later. Unfortunately, they do not have a customer support line that you can call.

Why Can’t I Delete My Tinder Account?

Sometimes Tinder has technical difficulties that make it impossible to delete a Tinder account permanently. In this case, there are only two solutions:

• Wait and try again later

• Delete your account from the Tinder website using a browser

What Happens If You Delete Your Tinder Account?

If you delete your Tinder account, everything gets deleted. That means that all your messages and matches are gone. You also won’t appear to others on the app anymore.

Can I Delete My Tinder Account and Make a New One?

Yes, you can delete your old Tinder account and create a new one. But you should wait at least three months between deleting the old account and making a new one. Starting a new account any sooner can result in a shadowban.

How Do I Permanently Delete My Tinder Account?

Tinder makes it simple to delete your account by going into your Settings from your Profile. Scroll down to Delete Account and follow the prompts to permanently delete it.

Free Yourself from Swiping

Deleting your Tinder account is a simple endeavor. And if you feel like you need to dive back into the digital dating pool, you can always create a new account. Just try to wait at least three months first.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights
Zoom How to Change Name
chkdsk windows 10