Galaxy S9: Forgot Backup Password

Samsung Galaxy S9 and S9 Plus

Forgetting a lock screen password is something that happens to most smartphone users, so you don’t have to beat yourself about it. Most of the solution out there requires you to do a factory reset that will wipe all your information on the phone from essential contacts to all media. What most people don’t know if there are other methods to first using to unlocking their Samsung Galaxy S9 smartphone without forgoing the information. Here is the list of the three different ways to fix the problem.

Using Android Device Manager to Unlock your Phone

This option is only available to Galaxy S9 users that have already installed and registered their devices on the Android Manager software. It is straightforward if you have already used the app, but if you don’t, then you cannot use this method. The device manager has a Lock feature you can use to unlock your Galaxy S9 smartphone. Here are the steps you can follow:

  • Go to Google’s Find My Mobile site from your computer
  • Look for your phone on the list of devices
  • Tap the Lock and Erase option
  • Follow the instructions to continue
  • You’ll set a temporary password
  • You can now use the temporary password to access your phone
  • Once you’re in, you can change to a new permanent password

Unlock Using Samsung Find My Mobile

This method also needs you to have registered, but there is a high probability that you might have signed up. If you have ever use the remote control option on your Samsung Galaxy S9, then you’re good to go because it requires the same process of registration. It has a feature known as “Find My Mobile,” and any Samsung user can use this service to unlock their device. It’ll provide you with a temporary password you can use to open your phone. Here is how to do this:

  • Use the Find My Mobile feature to get a temporary password from your computer
  • Use that password to unlock your phone
  • After that, set a new password

Perform a Factory Reset

Performing factory reset on your phone means you’ll lose all your files, only use this method as a last resort. However, you can still copy most of your files before doing a factory reset, don’t worry you can move your data using media pairing even when your phone is locked. Here is the guide on how you can perform a factory reset.

Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.