Why Has My Wickr Account Been Suspended?

When it comes to security and privacy, Wickr is one of the highest-rated messaging apps around. Some of its best-in-class features include secure voice and video calling, full end-to-end encryption, and secure file sharing.

With security being Wicker’s top priority, it’s no wonder their user account management is set to a higher standard as well. Compared to the security most common apps feature, Wicker keeps it real tight on this front. Because of that, you might sometimes run into certain barriers when trying to access your account.

Account Suspended

One of the worst things you can encounter when dealing with software is the “Account Suspended” message. Unable to access your account, you start wondering why this happened. Did you mess something up? Did Admin lock you out for some reason?

Fortunately, with Wickr it usually comes down to heightened security, which is there for your own protection, after all. When dealing with account suspension, there’s a couple of reasons why this can happen. Some you can solve on your own, others you unfortunately can’t.

Wickr

Duplicate Device Names

If have two devices with the same name, Wickr sees this as a threat. To ensure your account remains secure, it will lock you out and notify you about the problem. To resolve this, follow the steps below:

  1. Open Wicker on your phone.
  2. Tap the “Settings” icon in the lower left corner.
  3. Tap Account section
  4. Look at the device list. If you find any devices with the same name, remove the duplicates. You might also find your old device(s) in the list. Make sure you remove these as well.
  5. After you’ve done that, close the app.
  6. Now you need to uninstall Wickr:
    1. On Android devices, go to your phone’s “Settings” menu and open Application Manager. Tap the Wickr icon from the list and tap “Uninstall”. Wait until your phone finishes the process and then proceed to the next step.
    2. For iOS devices, all you need to do is tap and hold on the Wicker icon until the “x” appears in the icon’s corner. Tap the “x” button and the app will uninstall.
  7. Now restart your device.
  8. Visit the corresponding app store and install Wickr: Apple App Store, Google Play Store.
  9. Once installed, open the app.
  10. When the app asks you to login, fist tap “Existing Account”.
  11. Now enter your current credentials to login.

In order to prevent any duplicate device names appearing in the future, follow the advice below, depending on the device you’re using.

For Android devices, after you select the “Existing Account” option, look at the “Device Name” field. A unique value should appear here. If you see that the name is identical to one of your other devices, change it accordingly.

On iOS, a duplicate name can appear after changing your device. This happens when your Wickr ID remains registered with your previous iPhone or iPad. To solve the issue, simply change the name of the device you plan to use. Go to “Settings”, tap General, tap “About”, and finally “Name”. Now enter a unique name for your device, and you’re all set.

Wickr Account Has Been Suspended

Account Terminated Manually

As part of its security measures, Wickr allows you to terminate your own account manually. You can find this option in the app’s settings menu under the “Account” option. When you tap “Terminate Account”, the app will ask you to confirm this by entering your password.

Once you do so, your Wickr account will be suspended permanently. To use Wickr again, you’ll have to create a new account from scratch.

Account Inactive for Six Months

In terms of all the latest updates, Wickr might suspend your account if you’ve been inactive for more than six months. This usually happens with the release of new updates In this scenario, the app will automatically suspend any inactive users that fit this description.

Unfortunately, there’s no way to revert this. Therefore, you’ll have to create a brand-new Wickr account for yourself.

Incorrect Logins Attempts

In order to prevent any unauthorized access to your account, Wickr locks out users who try to login with the wrong credentials after five consecutive attempts. If that happens, you won’t be able to login from this device for the next 24 hours. Note that the counter starts after the fifth incorrect attempt.

Following its strict security protocols, there’s no way to speed up this process. You’ll definitely have to wait this period out until you can try logging in again.

It’s important to note that on iOS devices, both Touch ID and Face ID login attempts count toward the limit. So always keep this in mind when trying to login to Wickr.

Super-High Security with Wickr

Having such tight security protocols, it’s evident that Wickr definitely ranks among the most secure messaging apps out there. If you ever experience account suspension, always keep in mind that such a nuisance is actually there to maintain all your conversations absolutely secure.

Have you ever got locked out of Wickr? What was the cause for the suspension? Please share your experiences in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.