How to See Who Has Access in Google Sheets

When you’re using Google Sheets for multiple business projects, it’s crucial to know who has access to your files. If you only share your information with the right people, you can rest assured that they’ll be careful.

However, if you overshared your document with too many people and you’re not sure what to do next, we’ve got you covered. This article will show you how to see who has access to your files and how to manage their permissions.

Who Can Access Your Spreadsheets?

On every file you’ve shared, there’s a list of contacts that have access. When you right-click on the file and press “Share,” you’ll see all the people you’ve shared it with. If you didn’t share it, you’ll be the only name on the list.

Sharing Files

One of the perks of using Drive is its ability to share an abundance of data in just a few clicks. You can share all your files in two ways: using a link or allowing other people to access your files.

The sharing process is so simple that all it takes is to click on the green “Share” button on the upper right corner of every Google Sheets file. If you want to send a shareable link, you need to click on “Get Shareable Link” and paste to any email, document, message, or through any other communication channel.

Google Sheets Who Has Access

Find Files Shared with You

Sharing files has never been easier and if you’re receiving a lot of them, make sure you organize them properly. Once you open the “Shared with Me” section, you’ll see files and folders shared with you, as well as files you’ve accessed through a link. Each file has all its necessary information, such as the owner’s name, the sharing date, and the document type.

Google even enables you to create a shortcut if you want these files to immediately accessible whenever you open Google Drive. Here’s how to create a shortcut:

  1. Open your Google Drive.
  2. Open the “Shared with Me” section and select all the files and folders you want to access through a shortcut.
  3. When you press the right-click, choose “Add Shortcut to Drive.”
  4. Choose the location and tap on “Add Shortcut.”

Google Sheets Has Access

How to Stop Sharing Files

You’ve probably been in a situation where you shared a file with many people, whether they’re from your team or not. Suppose you’ve noticed many unusual activities or edits; maybe it’s time you stopped sharing files. If you want to stop sharing files, this is the process:

  1. Open Google Sheets and select a folder or a file.
  2. Tap on the “Share” option and the list of people, find those you no longer want on the list.
  3. Right-click on someone’s name and tap “Remove.”
  4. Repeat this for every contact until you only share your file with the right people.
  5. Click on “Save,” and all these changes will apply.

Limited File Sharing Options

Whenever you’re sharing files, you’re assuming no one will share or print them without your permission. Unfortunately, you often find out about it only when the files are already in the wrong hands. Google Sheets allows you to limit who can see your files and what they can do with them.

Those who want to protect their files and folders on Google Drive need to follow these steps:

  1. Find folders or files you want to protect.
  2. Open “Settings” on top of the screen.
  3. Remove your permission for commenters and viewers to copy, download, and print documents, who do not have your consent.
  4. Tap “Save” and “Done.”

Limited Time Files

If you’re working with sensitive data or conducting research, file safety is key. That’s why you can only share a Google Sheets document for a limited amount of time. That way, you give someone a day or a week to see your files, but it gets revoked after this time expires.

Now, let’s see how to do this:

  1. Open your spreadsheet and tap “Share.”
  2. Select the user(s) that will have temporary access to your documents.
  3. Tap on the arrow sign and tap “Give Temporary Access.”
  4. Decide how many days, weeks or months and write it next to “Access Expires.”
  5. Tap “Save.”

Transferring File Ownership

Google allows you to change the ownership of any file or folder you create. After the process finishes, you’re no longer able to transfer it back to you or permanently delete the file. Before you do it, make sure that you know what will happen and that you’re okay with it.

Once you’ve opened the file and share it with the right person, go to the list of contacts you’ve shared it with, and in the menu, choose “Make Owner.”

Google Sheets See Who Has Access

Safety Comes First

The fastest way to share documents today is to use Google Drive. However, more than ever today, we need to be careful when sharing our work. Now that we’ve shown you how to see who has access to your files and how to revoke that access quickly, you can keep all your data safe. Plus, you also now know more about how to share your files for a limited time and transfer your file’s ownership.

Do you prefer sharing files through links, or by adding other members? Do you feel comfortable sharing files outside of your team?

Let us know in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights
Zoom How to Change Name
chkdsk windows 10