0

How To Delete All Activity, Searches, Post, History from Google

Posted by Arch on February 15, 2019

There are many methods that you can use to delete the activity of your Google accounts. However, none of the methods actually erases all traces of your online presence. You would need a methodical approach and to take multiple steps if you want to delete everything.

Google offers its users a choice to save or not save specific activity logs. However, by default, the browser will record most of the data from your browsing. This also includes location history, timeline history, and other potentially sensitive information.

If you don’t take the necessary steps to prevent that from happening, you will eventually have to delete all your activity data to hide your tracks or prevent important information from being stolen if your device becomes compromised.

This article details all the necessary steps that you have to take if you want to delete all your activity. Note that this is beyond just your browsing history (which everyone knows how to do).

Computer

My Activity

One of the easiest ways to cover your tracks on your current device is to use the My Activity feature to delete all data. From this section, you can erase everything from your browsing history to autofill data. However, it will not remove bookmarks.

While logged into your Google account, open your browser and type in the following address:

https://myactivity.google.com/myactivity

Select the Delete Activity option. You will be asked to choose the period of time for which you wish to delete all the data. If you want to erase everything, select All Time.

Delete History

  1. Press Ctrl + H in your browser
  2. Select Advanced tab
  3. Check every box available
  4. Clear Data

This removes browsing history, autofill data, cookies, etc. Bookmarks can be removed from the bookmark manager one at a time or by deleting entire folders. Alternatively, you can also delete the bookmark file from the Chrome designated folder in the AppData folder.

Android

If you want to delete your Google activity from an Android device, follow the next steps.

  1. Open Settings app
  2. Select Google
  3. Select Google Account
  4. Tap Data & Personalization
  5. Locate Activity and timeline
  6. Select My Activity
  7. Tap More
  8. Select Delete activity by
  9. Pick All time to delete all activity recorded on your device
  10. Hit Delete

Don’t forget that you can also delete just individual activity items instead of entire bundles. Unless you’re completely sure that you need a clean start, don’t hesitate to browse through individual activity entries.

Once an activity log is deleted, it is gone permanently.

iPhone and iPad

If you’re using any of these devices, accessing the My Activity app is a lot faster. It should be located on the settings menu. Simple click it and tap More. Then select to delete all activity since All time. Press Delete and you’re done.

Of course, you would have to be logged into your Google account before doing this.

Other Activities

Think of your location history or map timelines or YouTube surveys. There are many things you do online that get recorded. Some of the data is collected and saved under the Other Activities tab. Deleting My Activity logs will not remove these ones.

Once you access the My Activity page, you will notice a link for Other Google Activity. By accessing that, you will be redirected to a page containing a list of activities that you can manage or delete only from there.

These activity records can’t be erased all at once. You will have to delete them manually. But not everything can be deleted, as you will find out when browsing through the list.

For example, device information or comments made on YouTube videos cannot be deleted from there. However, they can be revisited.

A Final Thought

Deleting your Google activity may be a pain but it is not a bad idea. When you’re in an unfortunate position to share the same device with other people, you open yourself up to data theft. You can also give away your habits and travel history if you’re not using the My Activity feature properly when deleting information.

Passwords, browsing history, cached files – everything can be up for grabs for people that know their way around the minimal security features that Google and most commercial systems offer.

Even online activity in Chrome’s Incognito mode is not as secret as you might think. Although the process may be time-consuming on some devices, especially if you’re not in the habit of clearing data once in a while, it is worth doing if you have valuable information to protect.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.